Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I've tried many of bastes and rubs. I have very picky clients and went out on a limb and tried this without trying this myself in house. Not one complaint was heard!!!! Many said it was the best they have had!!! I did cut the cayenne pepper in half and let it cook for over 18 hours. Not just me but over 50 folks rated it 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
used honey instead of brown sugar. its awesome. used only 1 TBS cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I used a 6 pound bone-in pork shoulder and halved the rest of the ingredients to make this in my slow cooker, set on high, for 7.5 hours. While maybe not the same as smoked, it was delicious! I made the "Burger and Hot Dog Buns" recipe by Sally (from Allrecipes.com) to make wonderful rolls, and my KFC coleslaw copycat recipe (it has been submitted but not kitchen approved yet, so you can see it if you look in my recipe box). The pulled pork, topped with KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce and coleslaw, on the home-made rolls, was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This has the potential to be delicious. Only reason I'm rating 4 stars is because I had trouble keeping the smoker temp at 225 so the flavor was not good as it could've been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious! Moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Well, I had to improvise again, but it worked so I'm passing on.... I didn't have apple cider vinegar, so I used white vinegar, and then I substituted Berry Juicy Juice instead of water. (apple juice would probably work, but I didn't have it on hand at time either.) Added a splash of seasoning sauce because I didn't have a smoker, and cooked on low in my slow cooker. Fantabulous, so I know the original must be Uber Fantabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
yum! i had to adapt the recipe for my circumstances, and it STILL came out great. used a big cast iron pot in the oven, halved the vinegar and cayenne, and used about 1/4 cup liquid smoke (in place of smoking), and only used half of the sauce (saving the other half for adding after). cooked at 275 for about 7 hours, was nervous when the house began to smell of baking vinegar, but the taste was worth it! the hubs and SUPER picky kids devoured it, dribbling the sauce over their sandwiches. i got lots of "mmmm, can we have this again one day?" and "thanks! this is gooooood!" comments, as well as having 2 more meals worth now tucked away in the freezer. this is a great alternative to the soaked-in-sticky-sweet-bbq-sauce-til-ya-can't-even-taste-the-meat issue that often occurs in BBQ recipes. thanks for sharing the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker using an 8lb. bone-in shouler picnic roast. I brushed the roast with browning sauce first, then added about a teaspoon of liquid smoke to the sauce. Poured it all over the top and cooked on low for about 8 hrs. It was amazing! No additional sauce needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
loved it we used a dry rub and marinatted it with rub for 4 hours browned over coals smoked and cooked in oven family of 6 was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullit bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT! Made this recipie for my daughters 1st birthday and everyone raved! It starts out seeming spicy and could continue on this path if you use a spicy bbq sauce in finish. I used standard Sweet Baby Rays and WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States