Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is my first time reviewing a recipe, because this is absolutely amazing! The closest to my beloved BBQ joint in VA that shut down I've tried! I am a HUGE vinegar sauce fan, and this does not disappoint. I made the suggested serving size for 9 people for the 4th of July, each person was able to have AT LEAST 2 sandwiches, some people even had 3! There was enough leftover for an additional 4 for lunch the next day. Make more that you think you need, because people will LOVE it and you'll be sad when there are no leftovers! Along with some other reviews I altered this to my situation. There was no smoker or grill of access to me, so for a just shy of 5pnd butt it took about 6 hours at 275 (thanks to the other reviewers who suggested this oven only method, they were lifesavers!) I also decreased the cayenne to 1tbs, but will use the suggested amount next time as I like more spice than I thought I did! I couldn't find liquid smoke as some suggested in Lieu of smoking, and it was absolutely amazing regardless. Your house will absolutely smell like vinegar, if you find that completely offensive wait for a day you can have the windows open to make this. I also did marinate it in the sauce after shredded for some extra flavor for around 30min on the stovetop. If you love vinegar based BBQ, you HAVE to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Too hot! Really not that good as a spice. Will look at it again to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simply outstanding. I cook mine in the oven every time @375' and several hrs later it is sooooooooo scrumptious!!!!!! I follow the recipe exactly and increase as needed depending on the size of my meat. My family loves it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The flavor and tenderness of this is amazing! I also cheated because I do not have a smoker. After reading the reviews, the charcoal grill is something I would have never thought of....next time! I used a boneless 4 1/2 lbs pork butt & cooked in the oven tightly covered with foil at 275 for 6 hours. Removed the foil and cooked at 350 for an additional hour basting it a few times. Then allowed it to rest and then shredded it. I used less cayenne & about a tbs. of liquid smoke, it was still pretty spicy, but really good! I had to put BBQ sauce on the kids to counter the heat. This dish was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Authentic Alabama pulled pork! This is our go-to recipe. We have made this numerous times and it is always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I smoke this with hicory chips for church functions and it's always a hit, and never any leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was concerned about the cayenne in this recipe as my family usually complains I make spicy dishes too hot, so I cut the cayenne in half. I was not afraid of the vinegar though as I love ACV and pork together. I did do the oven step (4) but skipped the final step of immersing the meat in the sauce (6). We have a Traeger smoker and I used apple wood for smoking. This was FANTASTIC! It will be my go-to smoked pork recipe from now on! It was not too hot for the kids at all as long as you skip the final step, and I may make it with the full cayenne next time. Thank you for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Fixed this as written except marinated it first with a Mexican marinade from a bottle I had in the fridge. Based it with the sauce Crome here while it was smoking, then wrapped it in foil with the remainder of the marinade and cooked for another 1 1/2 hours in the oven. The bark was outstanding, but the spicy flavor won't get inside unless you shred and cook, following the recipe. I think I will try injecting the meat with the sauce, then smoke/ baste and see what happens. Will let you know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
i think anyone who doesnt like this recipe doesnt know good southern pulled pork.excellent taste and tenderness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I've tried many of bastes and rubs. I have very picky clients and went out on a limb and tried this without trying this myself in house. Not one complaint was heard!!!! Many said it was the best they have had!!! I did cut the cayenne pepper in half and let it cook for over 18 hours. Not just me but over 50 folks rated it 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States