Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Halved and made in slow cooker, used 3/4 tsp for cayenne. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe. I read the reviews and since I had two pork shoulders I cooked one on a charcoal grill and the other in a crockpot. The former was far superior to the latter. If you have access to a charcoal bbq, I would highly recommend this option. You do need to keep a much closer eye on things and you need to tend to things more but it is significantly better then the crockpot version. When cooking this on a charcoal grill you'll need a water pan to place below the roast and I would only use 1/2 a chimney full of charcoal to get this started, otherwise your temperatures will get far too high (350+) and it will cook much faster and you'll miss out on some of that slow smoked taste. I'd also soak your apple wood chunks for ~2.5-3 hrs as 2hrs was not enough. They were big chunks but after an hour or so they started on fire. Thank you Robert for this fantastic recipe. BTW the crockpot roast was nice for a sweet bbq version of the pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I really miss southern cuisine :) This brought back great memories of Mississippi! I make my own bbq sauce, Half I leave as is, half I serve in my bbq. It is a hit every time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonodar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Really good and super simple. Made it overnight in the crockpot. Used a pork shoulder with single recipe, no butter or water in the crock for 10+ hours. Easy on the peppers when multiplying recipe as everyone thought it was too peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! I cooked a pork roast in a slow cooker for 5 hours and then shredded it and grilled it in a grilling basket on a gas grill for about 20 minutes (occasionally spooning some of the broth on it while grilling). The first time I followed the recipe exactly but it was too peppery. I did it a second time and cut the black and red pepper in half and it was perfect!! I also added some liquid smoke as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Delicious! If you are cooking this in a show cooker, I recommend potting a little less spices on the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used a 3.5 lb. butt roast and put it in the crockpot since I don't have a smoker. I turned it over in the liquids every couple hours. It was done at 8 hours on low. It pulled right off the bone and shredded easily. I drained off the fat from the liquids and added the shredded meat back in to simmer 30 minutes more. I added a couple teaspoons liquid smoke and a couple tablespoons Pampered Chef Smoky barbecue rub then. It is soooo yummy! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I went the slow cooker route. It left my whole apartment smelling like vinegar instead of smoke, but it was super moist and tender. Flavor wise it was pretty good with a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Do not kid yourself the sauce is HOTTTT. I like to mix it with some memphis style store bough BBQ sauce and eat it on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
the best boston butt that I have ever had and will never cook one another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpitts96

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Springville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States