Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. We are from Texas where the extra kick from the cayenne pepper is appreciated. We do not add the butter. We use a green egg for the first half, using mesquite wood. We baste with apple juice during this phase. We put it in the oven for the second half. Finally, we do put it back in the oven after it has been pulled and drench it in sauce so that the flavors all come together. Great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! Like a few people, I prepared everything like the recipe says and put it in the crock pot. No left overs on this one! Be warned though, the house smells like vinegar after it cooks all day, so if you are planning a party, cook it the day before and warm it up in the crockpot for a couple of hours in the juice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I ahve been eating BBQ all my life (from Mississippi) and this is one fo the best I ahve had. The sauce/marinade is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iuka, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I originally reviewed this in summer 2012. When Allrecipes went to their new format somehow it disappeared. I'm still using this recipe and love it. However, I don't have a smoker. The butt is too big for either of my slow cookers, so I put it in my Staub in a 270-degree oven and cook it overnight. I halve the recipe no matter how much the butt weighs. Just pour it over and let it cook all night. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wonderful pulled pork! This was our first time smoking a butt (actually 2 - each was 3.5lbs). Smoked at 200-250 until meat reached 160 degrees. Then wrapped in foil with the additional liquid and baked about 3 hours. When it was ready to pull I just added the liquid from the foil then covered and returned to oven at 250 until we were ready to eat. The pan was completely cleaned out! Thanks, Robert - we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Used a slow cooker since we did not have a smoker. Cooked a 3 lb. Boston butt roast on high for 5-1/2 hrs. Went straight from the slow cooker to pulling it apart . . . no additional simmering in an oven. The pork pulled apart so easily, and was moist and flavorful. I rated this a 5* as I have no doubt it would be if cooked according to the directions using a smoker . . . deviating by using a slow cooker doesn’t capture the full potential of this recipe but still produces pork bursting with flavor. Great recipe, Robert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
the BEST pork I have had in my life... Cooked about 8 hours (low) in the crockpot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Halved and made in slow cooker, used 3/4 tsp for cayenne. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe. I read the reviews and since I had two pork shoulders I cooked one on a charcoal grill and the other in a crockpot. The former was far superior to the latter. If you have access to a charcoal bbq, I would highly recommend this option. You do need to keep a much closer eye on things and you need to tend to things more but it is significantly better then the crockpot version. When cooking this on a charcoal grill you'll need a water pan to place below the roast and I would only use 1/2 a chimney full of charcoal to get this started, otherwise your temperatures will get far too high (350+) and it will cook much faster and you'll miss out on some of that slow smoked taste. I'd also soak your apple wood chunks for ~2.5-3 hrs as 2hrs was not enough. They were big chunks but after an hour or so they started on fire. Thank you Robert for this fantastic recipe. BTW the crockpot roast was nice for a sweet bbq version of the pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I really miss southern cuisine :) This brought back great memories of Mississippi! I make my own bbq sauce, Half I leave as is, half I serve in my bbq. It is a hit every time! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisonodar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States