Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker using an 8lb. bone-in shouler picnic roast. I brushed the roast with browning sauce first, then added about a teaspoon of liquid smoke to the sauce. Poured it all over the top and cooked on low for about 8 hrs. It was amazing! No additional sauce needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
loved it we used a dry rub and marinatted it with rub for 4 hours browned over coals smoked and cooked in oven family of 6 was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullit bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
EXCELLENT! Made this recipie for my daughters 1st birthday and everyone raved! It starts out seeming spicy and could continue on this path if you use a spicy bbq sauce in finish. I used standard Sweet Baby Rays and WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. We are from Texas where the extra kick from the cayenne pepper is appreciated. We do not add the butter. We use a green egg for the first half, using mesquite wood. We baste with apple juice during this phase. We put it in the oven for the second half. Finally, we do put it back in the oven after it has been pulled and drench it in sauce so that the flavors all come together. Great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! Like a few people, I prepared everything like the recipe says and put it in the crock pot. No left overs on this one! Be warned though, the house smells like vinegar after it cooks all day, so if you are planning a party, cook it the day before and warm it up in the crockpot for a couple of hours in the juice. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I ahve been eating BBQ all my life (from Mississippi) and this is one fo the best I ahve had. The sauce/marinade is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iuka, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I originally reviewed this in summer 2012. When Allrecipes went to their new format somehow it disappeared. I'm still using this recipe and love it. However, I don't have a smoker. The butt is too big for either of my slow cookers, so I put it in my Staub in a 270-degree oven and cook it overnight. I halve the recipe no matter how much the butt weighs. Just pour it over and let it cook all night. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wonderful pulled pork! This was our first time smoking a butt (actually 2 - each was 3.5lbs). Smoked at 200-250 until meat reached 160 degrees. Then wrapped in foil with the additional liquid and baked about 3 hours. When it was ready to pull I just added the liquid from the foil then covered and returned to oven at 250 until we were ready to eat. The pan was completely cleaned out! Thanks, Robert - we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Used a slow cooker since we did not have a smoker. Cooked a 3 lb. Boston butt roast on high for 5-1/2 hrs. Went straight from the slow cooker to pulling it apart . . . no additional simmering in an oven. The pork pulled apart so easily, and was moist and flavorful. I rated this a 5* as I have no doubt it would be if cooked according to the directions using a smoker . . . deviating by using a slow cooker doesn’t capture the full potential of this recipe but still produces pork bursting with flavor. Great recipe, Robert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
the BEST pork I have had in my life... Cooked about 8 hours (low) in the crockpot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States