Alabama Pulled Pig Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
WINNER, WINNER, PULLED PORK DINNER! The sauce smelled awful but it is well worth smelling up the house, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I had to sub one cup of the apple cider for white because I didn't have enough. I did half of the cayenne so it wouldn't be too spicy for my five yr old. I also only used half the water. I cooked it in the crock pot all day and it turned out very tender and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin Sox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Major props on this, i love using Hickory and Apple wood mixture while smoking and i marinade my pork the night before with just a dry rub of stuff ill post later this week... I tried yours hopefully you will try mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is my first time reviewing a recipe, because this is absolutely amazing! The closest to my beloved BBQ joint in VA that shut down I've tried! I am a HUGE vinegar sauce fan, and this does not disappoint. I made the suggested serving size for 9 people for the 4th of July, each person was able to have AT LEAST 2 sandwiches, some people even had 3! There was enough leftover for an additional 4 for lunch the next day. Make more that you think you need, because people will LOVE it and you'll be sad when there are no leftovers! Along with some other reviews I altered this to my situation. There was no smoker or grill of access to me, so for a just shy of 5pnd butt it took about 6 hours at 275 (thanks to the other reviewers who suggested this oven only method, they were lifesavers!) I also decreased the cayenne to 1tbs, but will use the suggested amount next time as I like more spice than I thought I did! I couldn't find liquid smoke as some suggested in Lieu of smoking, and it was absolutely amazing regardless. Your house will absolutely smell like vinegar, if you find that completely offensive wait for a day you can have the windows open to make this. I also did marinate it in the sauce after shredded for some extra flavor for around 30min on the stovetop. If you love vinegar based BBQ, you HAVE to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Too hot! Really not that good as a spice. Will look at it again to modify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Simply outstanding. I cook mine in the oven every time @375' and several hrs later it is sooooooooo scrumptious!!!!!! I follow the recipe exactly and increase as needed depending on the size of my meat. My family loves it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The flavor and tenderness of this is amazing! I also cheated because I do not have a smoker. After reading the reviews, the charcoal grill is something I would have never thought of....next time! I used a boneless 4 1/2 lbs pork butt & cooked in the oven tightly covered with foil at 275 for 6 hours. Removed the foil and cooked at 350 for an additional hour basting it a few times. Then allowed it to rest and then shredded it. I used less cayenne & about a tbs. of liquid smoke, it was still pretty spicy, but really good! I had to put BBQ sauce on the kids to counter the heat. This dish was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Authentic Alabama pulled pork! This is our go-to recipe. We have made this numerous times and it is always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I smoke this with hicory chips for church functions and it's always a hit, and never any leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was concerned about the cayenne in this recipe as my family usually complains I make spicy dishes too hot, so I cut the cayenne in half. I was not afraid of the vinegar though as I love ACV and pork together. I did do the oven step (4) but skipped the final step of immersing the meat in the sauce (6). We have a Traeger smoker and I used apple wood for smoking. This was FANTASTIC! It will be my go-to smoked pork recipe from now on! It was not too hot for the kids at all as long as you skip the final step, and I may make it with the full cayenne next time. Thank you for such a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States