Alabama Fire Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I've made these a few times now and family still wants more! I've used the oyster crackers, Triscuits, regular saltines. All are met with people asking for more. Thanks for a great snack idea. I should add my grown son ran out of bread crumbs when cooking chicken one day so he crushed these up and said the chicken turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Someone brought these at a pot luck at work once and I ate so many. I was so glad to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These crackers come out tasting just like the ones I use to pay almost $6 for. I have made them several times now and agree with others on cutting back on the oil. Hard to resist snacking before the crackers are completely ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
My co-worker used to make this and I loved them! She had given me the recipe and I had lost to it.....so THANK YOU for posting....going to make some today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
When I bite into a cracker I don't want to smell or taste oil, and that is what happened with these. I even decreased the amount oil that the recipe called for. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
These are really good, but do need some tweaking. I took the advice of others and used less oil, only a bit over 1/2 cup and it was still way too much. After 24 hours my crackers are dripping in oil. I may try using less oil, more crackers, or maybe baking them for a few minutes to help dry out the oil next time. I also used an Italian dressing mix instead of Ranch, and I threw a little cayenne pepper in there as well as the red pepper flakes. I think next time I would omit the red pepper flakes entirely and use all cayenne, as it blends better for a more even coating. Very good idea, just needs a few little adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I have made these using half canola, half olive oil with the ranch dressing. Today I used a taco dry mix in place of the ranch dressing and added some garlic powder and italian seasonings. Just another flavor to consider. Tasty little cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
these were a big surprise, yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I have to say, I was VERY leery of this because of the whole plain crackers and added oil... but I was camping and wanted something easy, so I tried two versions with a bag of oyster crackers for each; one with Italian dressing mix and the other with Ranch dressing mix and each, I only used 1/2 cup of vegetable oil... .... ... OMG, these surprised me, they were that good. They will be a camping, outdoor staple! We liked the Italian version better, but they were both just as good! They were better on the second night instead of the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love this, but I use Ritz Toasted Chips instead of saltines...it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States