Alabama Fire Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were great; even better than expected. I made them as an inexpensive side to carry to a party, and they turned out to be the most talked about dish! I did use zesty Italian dressing mix instead of Ranch, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. This was much better received than the version with oyster crackers, and will be a go-to party recipe for me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
A spicy snack. Overall just a different spicy snack. Added different types of crackers, like Cheeze-its, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We like it even better this way: 1/2 c oil, 1t-1tbsp red pepper flakes, a couple T of powdered Ranch: toss w/a full box of cheeze-its. Crazy good! Part of what we give away for Christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Richmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I tweaked this a little bit: I used 1.5 cups oil, 1 packet dry Ranch and 1 packet dry Italian dressing mix. When I use 2 pkts ranch, I'll add 2 tbsp Italian seasoning. Our church youth group loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and lessened the oil to 1 cup and 1/3 with 2 bags of oyster crackers and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I made these for snacks for our camping trip and everyone gobbled them down with the same kind of surprise that I had. These little crackers with a weird mix of ingredients were actually really this good. I wasnt a believer and now I am for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was AWESOME!!!!.. the only thing I did different was add six pepper spice, you can find at Sams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Cary Kuykendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Wonderful! My only complaint is that I can't quit eating them. I like the whole wheat saltines better than regular for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Excellent. I make them all the time. I use EVOO and they are so good you can't stop eating them. That being said, I never use 3 tbsp. red pepper flakes - usually about 1 1/2 tbsp. You can adjust to suit your tolerance for 'fire'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RTGRN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make a similar recipe using 11/3 cup Canola Oil, 3 Tbls Hidden Valley Ranch Seasoning & Salad Dressing Mix, 1 Tbls Parmesan Cheese, 1 Tbls Crushed Red Peppers . Whisk ingredients together real well, pour over 4 sleeves Nabisco sea salt saltine crackers and turn crackers over several times until well coated. Put in a air tight container and burp. I let sit over night or at least 6-7 hours tuning and burping ever so often. I take these crackers every where and recipe in hand because I get ask how to make them. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directions instructed. It has definite possibilities. I will make it again. However, I will definitely cut the oil way back. Half will be plenty. Next, I will use oyster crackers, because I think they will be easier to coat without breaking and also coat more evenly. I had a some crackers with loads of red pepper flakes and others with hardly any. Lastly, I think I will change one of the ranch packets to an italian packet, but not both. If those changes work they way I suspect, I will come back and give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States