Alabama Fire Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I've made this soooo many times that I just have to add my two cents. Saltines are great but if you like more of a snack type treat, try using two bags of oyster crackers and 1 and 1/3 cup of oil. Keep all the rest of the ingredients the same. Mix all of the ingredients except the crackers in a small bowl. I let it soak for about 15 mins so that all of the the spices meld together. Put the two bags of oyster crackers in a gallon zip lock and then add the mix. Close and tumble it around until it looks like it's well combined. Let it sit...I know it's hard....over night! Once in awhile give it a turn. The next day all of the oil will be in the crackers and won't be greasy! I even transfer it at that time into a new bag or air tight bowl as the original bag is a bit messy from all of that tossing. It's really so easy! In a flash you'll have a snack that will knock peoples socks off and only cost you about six bucks providing that you have most of the spices already in your pantry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I have made these crackers several times and my family/friends LOVE them!!! I decided to read the reviews (for the first time) to see if anyone had a different twist on this recipe. I noticed that many people stated that the crackers were too greasy. I, too, cut back on the oil but after mixing them, I place them in a PAPER bag. As they sit overnight, the spices will blend and the paper will absorb most of the oil. They come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
These were really spicy, so keep a glass of water or milk nearby when eating. I loved the flavors though. I used multigrain club crackers, and these were a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
At my house, we call these "Cracker Crack" because they are so addictive and give you a foodie high! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoursuzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Apparently these are awesome!! Lol For some reason my tongue has never been able to handle anything spicy, so I have to pass on these, but I make them for my husband and son every year around the holidays. They LOVE them!! They can polish off a batch of them in a couple of days. I think I've sent more than a dozen copies of this recipe with my husband to give to his coworkers because they love them too. This one is a definite keeper with no modifications at all! Perfect as is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuSnow1980

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
these are great...reduced oil to 1 cup....served with Navratilova and Monterey Jack......luv them plain too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Very good. A nice addition with just about any kind of soup. I followed recipe except I didn't have powdered onion. I used minced dry instead and probably would use this replacement in the future as it added a nice oniony quality. Tx for recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURRBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Five stars - plus, plus, plus! This is an excellent snack and everyone devoured them looking for more. I will make these and bring them to the next party we go too. It is that good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Easy and awesome. Used 1 cup of olive oil, 2 packages of oyster crackers, everything else the same. My husband loves them. Says they are better than any other snack and he buys the oyster crackers as a hint to make them for him about every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kedo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These are truely AMAZING!!! A friend had some whereI use to work, And been looking for the recipe ever since. I used olive oil because it is heathier. next time I will use less, think they have a little to much oil. I also ate some before I soak em overnigt!! I think Ritz crackers would be good too. Thanks for sharing. I will make these again and share them with my family & friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States