Aji de Gallina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
MMMMMMMM!!! It could be my bias as I come from a Peruvian background... tastes just like my mom makes! I put extra garlice, onions and make it super spicy with extra aji! I did not add olives or carrots, they compete with the delicate balance of flavours in this dish; in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love trying out of the ordinary recipes, and this one was great. I didn't have walnuts (someone munched them when I wasn't looking) and it was still great. Added a sweet red pepper and only used 1/2 a loaf of bread as previously suggested. As my veggie stock was lacking a bit, I added some powdered stock and put the veggies in the blender instead of throwing them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
really good, but do NOT use a whole loaf of bread. I only used half and I could still taste it. I also doubled the aji and omitted the olives. yummy over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was time consuming but the results were excellent. We followed the recipe except used boneless skinless chicken so added a little chicken stock mix to the water. My Peruvian boyfriend and his kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
delicious!!!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! My husband is Peruvian and is very particular about his peruvian dishes. He loved it! Only used 10 slices of homestyle white bread instead of whole loaf. I also cook the bone in chicken breasts in store bought chicken stock and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really excellent and unusual-tasting recipe. Everyone in my family loved it, including my 4 year old son:) I followed the recipe exactly, except I did use legs/thighs (don't like white meat) and I added extra chili paste. Other than that, I followed it exactly. My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Started off by boiling chicken breasts, pototoes, and eggs in separate pots. I soaked my bread cubes in some chicken broth and then mashed it up with a fork to get a creamy consistency. Sauteed a chopped red onion in aji amarillo paste and aji panca paste along with garlic, salt, and pepper. Next added the shredded chicken with a little extra broth to achieve a consistency of a stew. After simmering for a few minutes to blend the chicken with the aji amarillo and aji panca flavors, I added my bread/broth mixture along with the evaporated milk and Parmesan cheese. Added the chopped walnuts last, and reduced to a thick stew. I served the Aji de Gallina over boiled potatoes with a side of rice and garnished with boiled eggs, black olives, and orange pepper. And, was even blessed to have some Inca Kola to go along with this very delicious and easy meal to cook. Viva El Peru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
its amazing... like the other girls said, I would put less bread and more aji... i'm alright with the amount of walnuts...thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Condes, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States