Aji de Gallina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My parents-in-law are Peruvian and I'm in the process of writing my masters thesis about Peruvian food. I'm living away from them for a little while so when I got a craving for Aji de Gallina, this filled the bill to a T! I did change it a little bit to make it a little healthier, and I was so so so happy with the results. I used whole wheat bread instead of white, and fat-free evaporated milk instead of the regular kind. I had to use a little more chicken stock in the sauce because the high gluten content in the wheat bread sucked up all the moisture so quickly. The result was a mere 141 calories and 4 grams of fat. It tasted just like my father-in-law's recipe that he's been cooking for years. So if you care about the nutrition, there you go! I'm so happy that I found a recipe (on paper) that I'm comfortable with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was very happy to finally find a recipe for aji de gallina. This was great, but an entire loaf of bread was too much--the end product was way too thick and tasted like white bread. Next time I will try half a loaf. I also doubled the aji for more flavor. Edit: A few adjustments can make this recipe restaurant quality. Making homemade chicken stock is a beautiful thing, but I usually don't have time. I like to use rotisserie chicken (for a “pollo a la brasa” flair) and store-bought chicken broth. Use 4-6 slices of bread (I like to use homemade whole wheat bread, and I think it contributes to the nutty flavor). Double the parmesan cheese. Make sure you use aji paste, not powder (find it at the Latino market). Double, or even triple, the aji for more flavor (you can add more to individual plates when serving if some members of your family like more spice). Also, I have successfully used almonds when I had no walnuts. The sauce thickens a lot as it cools, so keep adding chicken broth as needed. Last time I used 2-2 ½ cups total for the recipe. I think the olives give the dish a wonderfully distinctive Peruvian flair, but they are an acquired taste (hence the nickname "mata gringos"). Love this dish--thanks for sharing the recipe, Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
MMMMMMMM!!! It could be my bias as I come from a Peruvian background... tastes just like my mom makes! I put extra garlice, onions and make it super spicy with extra aji! I did not add olives or carrots, they compete with the delicate balance of flavours in this dish; in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used only a third of a loaf of bread, and a full loaf would be WAY too much. I also substituted regular black olives for kalamata, which I think would be too strong in this. Having followed the recipe this time, next time I'd just use my own chicken stock, and add cooked chicken to it, followed by the other steps. It was a long, unnecessary step for me to boil the meat and veggies to make stock, when I always keep homemade stock on-hand, anyway. You could also use canned stock. It'd be a good recipe if you have leftover chicken to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used to have a maid that made the best Aji de Gallina EVER! and i've been looking for a recipe that was similar this is the closest I have found. It does take a lot of time but it is soooo yummy. I know she used to put OCOPE in it instead of turmeric but I wasn't able to find either. :( I would put a little less cheese and maybe a little more chicken stock to make it more like the one I used to have but it was very yummy just make sure you have time to put into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Started off by boiling chicken breasts, pototoes, and eggs in separate pots. I soaked my bread cubes in some chicken broth and then mashed it up with a fork to get a creamy consistency. Sauteed a chopped red onion in aji amarillo paste and aji panca paste along with garlic, salt, and pepper. Next added the shredded chicken with a little extra broth to achieve a consistency of a stew. After simmering for a few minutes to blend the chicken with the aji amarillo and aji panca flavors, I added my bread/broth mixture along with the evaporated milk and Parmesan cheese. Added the chopped walnuts last, and reduced to a thick stew. I served the Aji de Gallina over boiled potatoes with a side of rice and garnished with boiled eggs, black olives, and orange pepper. And, was even blessed to have some Inca Kola to go along with this very delicious and easy meal to cook. Viva El Peru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really excellent and unusual-tasting recipe. Everyone in my family loved it, including my 4 year old son:) I followed the recipe exactly, except I did use legs/thighs (don't like white meat) and I added extra chili paste. Other than that, I followed it exactly. My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This recipe is great, but I left out the nuts and the kalamata olives. Nuts are too hard for a dish that's so smooth and delicious. I agree, the olives are too strong for this dish. Aji Panca is used traditionally, and I like to soak them in orange juice while the chicken stock's simmering and then blend them to make a paste. Also, you don't need to discard the vegetables used in the stock, you can blend them in the blender and put it in the stew as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! My husband is Peruvian and is very particular about his peruvian dishes. He loved it! Only used 10 slices of homestyle white bread instead of whole loaf. I also cook the bone in chicken breasts in store bought chicken stock and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States