Aji de Gallina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Yummmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This dish was just okay. Can't beat the way it's made in Peru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
It was time consuming but the results were excellent. We followed the recipe except used boneless skinless chicken so added a little chicken stock mix to the water. My Peruvian boyfriend and his kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This meal looked really good, but I was disappointed when I tried it. There really wasn't much flavor at all. I didn't use a whole loaf of bread, and used extra onions, but it still was pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I used only a third of a loaf of bread, and a full loaf would be WAY too much. I also substituted regular black olives for kalamata, which I think would be too strong in this. Having followed the recipe this time, next time I'd just use my own chicken stock, and add cooked chicken to it, followed by the other steps. It was a long, unnecessary step for me to boil the meat and veggies to make stock, when I always keep homemade stock on-hand, anyway. You could also use canned stock. It'd be a good recipe if you have leftover chicken to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
really good, but do NOT use a whole loaf of bread. I only used half and I could still taste it. I also doubled the aji and omitted the olives. yummy over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Panama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love trying out of the ordinary recipes, and this one was great. I didn't have walnuts (someone munched them when I wasn't looking) and it was still great. Added a sweet red pepper and only used 1/2 a loaf of bread as previously suggested. As my veggie stock was lacking a bit, I added some powdered stock and put the veggies in the blender instead of throwing them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wishmouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My parents-in-law are Peruvian and I'm in the process of writing my masters thesis about Peruvian food. I'm living away from them for a little while so when I got a craving for Aji de Gallina, this filled the bill to a T! I did change it a little bit to make it a little healthier, and I was so so so happy with the results. I used whole wheat bread instead of white, and fat-free evaporated milk instead of the regular kind. I had to use a little more chicken stock in the sauce because the high gluten content in the wheat bread sucked up all the moisture so quickly. The result was a mere 141 calories and 4 grams of fat. It tasted just like my father-in-law's recipe that he's been cooking for years. So if you care about the nutrition, there you go! I'm so happy that I found a recipe (on paper) that I'm comfortable with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I used to have a maid that made the best Aji de Gallina EVER! and i've been looking for a recipe that was similar this is the closest I have found. It does take a lot of time but it is soooo yummy. I know she used to put OCOPE in it instead of turmeric but I wasn't able to find either. :( I would put a little less cheese and maybe a little more chicken stock to make it more like the one I used to have but it was very yummy just make sure you have time to put into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatfoodaddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I was very happy to finally find a recipe for aji de gallina. This was great, but an entire loaf of bread was too much--the end product was way too thick and tasted like white bread. Next time I will try half a loaf. I also doubled the aji for more flavor. Edit: A few adjustments can make this recipe restaurant quality. Making homemade chicken stock is a beautiful thing, but I usually don't have time. I like to use rotisserie chicken (for a “pollo a la brasa” flair) and store-bought chicken broth. Use 4-6 slices of bread (I like to use homemade whole wheat bread, and I think it contributes to the nutty flavor). Double the parmesan cheese. Make sure you use aji paste, not powder (find it at the Latino market). Double, or even triple, the aji for more flavor (you can add more to individual plates when serving if some members of your family like more spice). Also, I have successfully used almonds when I had no walnuts. The sauce thickens a lot as it cools, so keep adding chicken broth as needed. Last time I used 2-2 ½ cups total for the recipe. I think the olives give the dish a wonderfully distinctive Peruvian flair, but they are an acquired taste (hence the nickname "mata gringos"). Love this dish--thanks for sharing the recipe, Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States