Aji de Gallina Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I could not find the intended pepper paste, so had to figure out a substitute. I used about a cup of green chiles, and added chipotle pepper to taste. I was lucky, and it came out just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I have been looking for the receipe for years. I was thrilled to find this receipe and couldn't wait to experiment. Emma thank you so much for sharing. I loved it. I cut the bread in half, added more garlic, more of the pepper paste and more broth. It turned out rich and spicy. Next time I will cut the turmeric in half. BTW: good luck finding the chili paste, I literally went to every hispanic store in our city only to find it at the local Peruvian resturant. Thanks again. Patti Gibbons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Are you sure 1 LOAF of bread? I made this dish last night. It was plain, tasteless, on the sweet side and too rich. I did not like a smell of turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
its amazing... like the other girls said, I would put less bread and more aji... i'm alright with the amount of walnuts...thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Condes, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This recipe is almost perfect. I first had aji de gallina in Peru, as my first lunch there. I wasn't thrilled with the country yet, as I was cold, hungry and tired. This dish made me a fan, and, to be dramatic, may have saved the vacation. That said, this recipe is much better with significantly more aji amarillo paste. The amount called for is hardly noticeable in the finished product, so just add to taste (I usually end up with about 4 tbsp). I also use only half the bread called for, and this makes for a meatier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Started off by boiling chicken breasts, pototoes, and eggs in separate pots. I soaked my bread cubes in some chicken broth and then mashed it up with a fork to get a creamy consistency. Sauteed a chopped red onion in aji amarillo paste and aji panca paste along with garlic, salt, and pepper. Next added the shredded chicken with a little extra broth to achieve a consistency of a stew. After simmering for a few minutes to blend the chicken with the aji amarillo and aji panca flavors, I added my bread/broth mixture along with the evaporated milk and Parmesan cheese. Added the chopped walnuts last, and reduced to a thick stew. I served the Aji de Gallina over boiled potatoes with a side of rice and garnished with boiled eggs, black olives, and orange pepper. And, was even blessed to have some Inca Kola to go along with this very delicious and easy meal to cook. Viva El Peru!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Really excellent and unusual-tasting recipe. Everyone in my family loved it, including my 4 year old son:) I followed the recipe exactly, except I did use legs/thighs (don't like white meat) and I added extra chili paste. Other than that, I followed it exactly. My compliments to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I cheated and used breadcrumbs instead of a loaf of bread and dropped the aji paste in the blender...Came out great..Have made this recipe before and it comes out great every time...next time will use more aji for a little more fire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe! My husband is Peruvian and is very particular about his peruvian dishes. He loved it! Only used 10 slices of homestyle white bread instead of whole loaf. I also cook the bone in chicken breasts in store bought chicken stock and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
delicious!!!! loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States