Aioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Reading the reviews is very important on Allrecipes. It made sense to me that cold ingredients might work better. Mine worked perfectly with EASY tweaks as follows. 1) I CHILLED the oil first in the fridge for a couple of hours. 2) First I used a mortar and pestle to grind together garlic and salt into a paste. (Keep salt to a minimum). This step is optional but worked well. 3) I added the garlic mixture and eggs to food processor and blended until just combined. 4) Turned the processor on and added the oil, scraping the container regularly during the blending. I used a food processor for the whole thing and it came together very quickly. About 10 minutes for entire process, and it's really the texture of mayonnaise. I added the lemon juice at the end of blending and it smoothed it out to a lovely consistency and gave it a nice little acidity. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. I am vegan and found if you use 1/4 cup of Nayonnaise instead of the eggs, it is fantastic and my non-vegan guests were none the wiser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I added more garlic gloves than specified, and it increased the intensity. The recipe makes quite a bit of aioli, so I would probably half it the next time. I served it on crab cakes and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
There is an old wives tale from Spain that says, when beating in the olive oil 1) always go in the same direction and 2) don't look at it while beating it, look away. Else the mixture will be too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
nice simple base. i roasted my cloves of garlic in the oven in their jackets, then squeezed them out, gave a nice little variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is very good!! The best way to make alioli is using a blender. Mix the eggs, garlic and salt in the blender for a few seconds and then start adding the oil in a fine stream with the blender runing (don't stop it). When the desired consistency is adquired add the lemon juice. It will be ready in less than 6 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This was very good: I made it to go with a Crab Cake recipe I also found on this site..Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PONYGIRL64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Tastes like home. I like to use an electric hand mixer its so much faster and gives the exact same taste and texture. Granted the traditional recipe does not have eggs but it is a lot harder to make and wears your arm out. My family uses this egg recipe all the time. Grill sliced potates and pork chops and use this as a slathering or dipping side and WOW, welome to SPAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi's Delectables

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This was my first attempt at making aioli from scratch - and I don't know whether I messed something up, or if this is just a gross recipe, but considering I'm a pretty good cook, I believe this just isn't a very good recipe. We found the flavour of garlic to be waaaay over the top, half as much would have been plenty...so I ended up trying to add more lemon juice. oil and another egg yolk (don't do this, it turned out horribly). So in the end, I just added about 1/2 cup of mayonnaise. It still wasn't very good, but edible at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This is a classic aioli. It has a nice kick to it but yet not to much of a bite. It goes wonderful dolloped on an oyster, and sucked right back. Duane R. Orillia, Ontario Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States