Aioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Too eggy for me. I have made home made mayo before and know how to pour and beat the oil in just right, but something was just wrong with the portions here. . . And I agree with most in here that more garlic and a bit more lemon in needed. . . Personally you can never put a max on garlic and lemon when it comes to seafood. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yikes... I didn't like this. But I had never had aioli sauce before so I didn't know exactly what to expect. It's probably more just a personal taste than the recipes fault. I wouldn't make it again. My boyfriend said it tasted like cardboardy butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Reading the reviews is very important on Allrecipes. It made sense to me that cold ingredients might work better. Mine worked perfectly with EASY tweaks as follows. 1) I CHILLED the oil first in the fridge for a couple of hours. 2) First I used a mortar and pestle to grind together garlic and salt into a paste. (Keep salt to a minimum). This step is optional but worked well. 3) I added the garlic mixture and eggs to food processor and blended until just combined. 4) Turned the processor on and added the oil, scraping the container regularly during the blending. I used a food processor for the whole thing and it came together very quickly. About 10 minutes for entire process, and it's really the texture of mayonnaise. I added the lemon juice at the end of blending and it smoothed it out to a lovely consistency and gave it a nice little acidity. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is a PERFECTLY GOOD RECIPE. It just requires that you use the old "noggin'" a bit to get it to come together for you. What everyone below who was unsuccessful seems to be complaining about is that the aioli didn't thicken. Making garlic mayo is like making ice cream or butter. You need to CHILL before, during, and after you beat the eggs and oil together. I used a "double freezer" method - same concept as making ice cream - to keep my mixing bowl cold while I beat the eggs and oil. Use an ice bucket or a big bowl of ice and put your mixing bowl on top of that and mix away! That will cool and congeal the eggs and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Never again! It didn't come together at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Perhaps it was just me, but this didn't seem to blend very well, and as an end result didn't turn out to be very tasty. Perhaps it's just easier to buy jarred mayonaise and put the garlic and lemon juice in there? Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was awful. I could not get it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
There is an old wives tale from Spain that says, when beating in the olive oil 1) always go in the same direction and 2) don't look at it while beating it, look away. Else the mixture will be too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Excellent taste. I use it often for potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Good recipe but a little heavy. I usually just make a quick aioli using mayo, milk, garlic and lemon juice. (Weight Watchers) Much lighter even though not true aioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States