Aioli (Garlic Mayonnaise) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I can't rate this recipe although I love aioli and I will try it soon..I have a question however....Husband and I dined at a new restaurant and ordered "fried olives" (believe it or not! They were terrific!) served with aioli. Our server told me that the aioli was made with egg white.. anyone ever heard of this? if so please submit your recipe..thanks, Lala
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe required a bit more lemon juice and salt than I expected, but it's SO worth the testing. Served it over crab cakes and it was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It did not set up despite following recommendations of other posters. I instead threw it over my salmon and used it as a baking marinade. The flavor of the salmon was tasty with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
It came out perfect. Although I added a little more oil, it was so thick.and also added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Dimensions don't seem right on this recipe; perhaps they meant to say one tablespoon of oil or something... I used 2 egg yolks, 2 tsp dijon, 1/4cup grapeseed oil, 2 cloves garlic juice from about half a lemon and salt& pepper to taste. The consistency with these measurements was perfect. Chopped some basil to add at the end, magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
could not get this to set up no matter what. To bad, oh well, off to the store for more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I read all the reviews, was careful to have a very dry blender, room temp egg yolk etc and it still turned out super runny and unusable. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellent alternative to plain store-bought mayonnaise! Although I think the recipe calls for a bit too much oil, the first time I tried the recipe it seemed to be setting until the last little bit of oil I added... BUT i took MJJK's advice and started over with another egg yolk and it turned out perfectly! (thanks MJJK!) One thing though is I find the aioli has a litte bit of a bitter after-taste, is that just me? It is delicious none-the-less! (and quick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My husband went nuts over this recipe, it was incredible with crab cakes. We ate it ALL at dinner with just us two! I read all the reviews and suggestions...egg yolk at room temperature, add paprika, increased raw garlic to 4 cloves. I would add that I would run the garlic thru a press for the most garlic flavor. Also, this tastes very different alone as opposed to with food. Don't discount it until you accompany it with shrimp, salmon croquettes or crabcakes. Next time, I will add chives, fresh basil and some herbies, too lazy to wander to the garden today: November 1 and 90 degrees in Tucson, AZ! Thanks to all for suggestions and LIANNEF for a great recipe! UPDATE: I just made my Salmon Cakes and for the sauce here I doubled this recipe with 2 egg yolks, 2 teaspoons of dijon mustard, and then added 4 giant cloves of fresh garlic, but STILL only put in 1 cup of EVOO. Lemon juice ended up at 1 Tablespoon; I added the 1/2 teaspoon of Giant Kosher Salt Flakes while whipping the Aioli. At the end, added Freshly Ground Black Pepper on top to taste, a splash of olive oil and toasted pine nuts. YUMMY! No paprika. Enjoy it, we keep it in the frig for other seafood for up to 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Tweaked by less oil (about half),double the dijon and garlic, used lime juice and seasoned with salt, cracked pepper and a couple of pinches of sugar just to balance the taste. Fabulous consistency even hand whisked. Everyone loved it, used as a dip and a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States