Ainaa's BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this in the oven because it decided to rain when I made it. It cooked up nice and crispy on top but was very greasy on bottom, maybe I should've used a broiler pan. Also, I left out the ginger juice since I couldn't find it anywhere. It still tasted good, I'd like to try it on the grill next time, weather permitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
The chicken came out nice and tender, but the flavor was disappointing. I was hoping for more of a Tandoori Chicken flavor and this just didn't have much kick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I wish I agreed with the great reviews...but this chicken was less than exceptional. I was really looking forward to a wonderful BBQ chicken but this chicken left a funny aftertaste and my husband actually said this was one of the worst meals I've made in years :(....I followed the recipe exactly except for baking the chicken and omitting the buttermilk. I can't imagine this would have made that much of a difference...oh well, I will be deleting this one out of my recipe box to never be repeated...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used coconut milk, omitting the buttermilk, and added it from the get-go, also used ginger powder out of convenience. I taste-tested the marinade before adding the chicken and ended up increasing all the spices and flavorings (minus the salt). Good thing because after coming off the grill, the marinade were very faint. I have similar complaints when making Tandoori chicken, where the flavors ride on a yogurt marinade. I want to give it 3 stars but since I like charred chicken and didn't marinate the full time, plus the marinade tasted good with my changes, I gave it 4. I'll give this one another go, but maybe I'll try baking instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I had scaled this recipe down for two people, and boy did I regret that. It was soooo delicious, we really wished we had enough for seconds. I actually baked it in the oven in the sauce since we didn't have a bbq. I will definitely make this again. And probably soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I've been making and enjoying recipes from allrecipes for many, many years but this is my first time ever leaving a review. That's how good this is! My husband and I love this chicken recipe! We've made it many times over the months and it is super easy, requires little effort and is always GOOD! I make three minor modifications to the recipes; I use boneless/skinless chicken thighs or breasts, instead of grilling, I bake them for 45-60 min at 350 and lastly, I have yet to find ginger juice at either of my local grocery stores so I add a tsp of dried ginger spice. It's a GREAT recipe that I know I'll continue to make again and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I had to mess with this a bit because I didn't have all of the ingredients, but it still tasted great! I substituted ginger powder for ginger juice, omitted the cardamom and the salt, used plain soy milk for buttermilk, and used apple cider instead of the lemon juice and brown sugar. I marinated it overnight, like the directions said, and grilled it on my George Forman (ah, the woes of apartment living). I served it with raw mushrooms, red pepper, warm naan, and garlic hummus. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
We tend to not go for spicy, so I knew this was a risky choice. Having four kids and a picky husband means that I rarely cook something that no one complains about. However, this was a big hit! I made it as is and everyone loved it and asked for seconds. I'll make more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This turned out to be a fantastic way to grill chicken. Usually, grilled chicken is a bit boring, but this recipe provided an interesting asian twist - something between Indian and Thai. I omitted the buttermilk, but was actually curious if coconut milk would have been more appropriate... Also, I used thighs and legs instead of a whole chicken and it turned out excellent, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone (including my friend's very picky daughter) LOVED this. My kids even went back for seconds! I may try baking it next time, just to see how it turns out when done that way. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwmeers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States