Aimee's Mashed Cauliflower 'Potatoes' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
This recipe turned my hubby from a cauliflower hater to a lover. He even said he wouldn't mind having these instead of mashed potatoes!! I skipped the cheese, and used a light whipped butter for a less calorie version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I have a similar recipe which I never thought of as a substitute for potatoes! but is a good side dish? I mash cooked cauliflower with low fat mayo, Parmesan cheese, garlic powder and black pepper. can be served right away or reheats well,too. I sometimes top with melted cheese, whatever I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made them and thought they were good. I didn't care for the cheese on top so replaced with some gravy. Kind of defeated the healthy aspect I suppose, but it made them so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Texture and mouth feel is a huge part of the illusion. If you simply mash the cauliflower, it doesn't quite pull it off. But if you puree it in a blender or food processor, it comes very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good and easy, added a little garlic powder, I will probably just cook the cauliflower in the microwave to save some time. Husband who's diabetic ate all of his, and didn't complain about no mashed potatoes! ( = a 4 star review for him) The rest of us loved itl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitten141986
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Just made this for dinner and yumm. I did find the texture when mashed to still be like cauliflower and not like potato so I added some freshley minced garlic and then whipped it in the food processor, adding more milk as needed. I then baked it with some grated cheddar and paprika on top for about 15 minutes. Came out awesome! Will definalty make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten141986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I’ve made these cauliflower mashed potato dishes many times but always have to be very careful when I make them so they don’t turn out too goopy. For great success the cauliflower must be cooked until very tender, must be dried out as much as possible, and a very limited amount of milk added, if any. What I immediately noticed in this recipe was the addition of the potato flakes, and I thought that was ingenious! The submitter adds just enough to ensure that the cauliflower is a mashed potato consistency and it was a very easy and effective solution! You know, one of those, “Why didn’t I think of that?” kind of things. I made it easy on myself and just microwaved the cauliflower and dried it very thoroughly before I continued with the rest of its preparation. Since I was serving this with gravy I didn’t use the Cheddar cheese. Obviously this only pretends to be mashed potatoes, but it does a fine job, particularly with the “secret ingredient” of potato flakes. Suggestion: For best flavor use butter, not margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I modified the recipe to use 4 cups cooked cauliflower, 1/2 c. Betty Crocker Butter and Herb mashed potato flakes, 1/2 c. milk, 4 tsp. margarine, 1/2 c. cheese. After boiling the cauliflower for approximately 8 minutes, I pureed it in my food processor then added the flakes, milk, and margarine; processed again then added the cheese. I did not take the extra time to bake the potatoes because my 2 year old niece wanted a taste and ended up eating two bowls. Four cups of cauliflower only made approximately three servings so I had to make a second batch immediately. Delicious! I didn't add salt or pepper due to the extra flavoring in the mashed potatoes. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
me and bf really enjoyed this but didn't add the cheese.. topped with a mushroom gravy.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Totally different taste than mashed potatoes (which is what you think of when you're eating it), but VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States