Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This isn't good at all. I live in Hawaii and we sometimes get free ahi. I like the taste of poke better with cubed ahi, sesame oil, shoyu, tahini, a dash of oyster sauce, chopped chives, chopped maui onion, minced garlic, and seaweed. All to taste. You can omit the oyster sauce or omit the garlic. I would not recommend making this "nut" version at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love this recipe. Every time I serve this at a party, I always get requests for the recipe. It taste great served on fried wonton chips and also on toast points. It's a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Loved this! I didn't have the nuts but didn't miss them - I did add a large tsp of minced ginger (from jar) and it added much flavor. Also followed other suggestions of cutting soy in half and using part teryaki sauce. Will make this again and again. I served over mixed salad greens as first course - got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Good,but omit the mac nuts and have wasabi with aloha shoyu on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
It was ok, next time I'd cut down the red pepper, even though I like spicy, this ended up too spicy, even hubby thought so. Didn't add the nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was awesome! I made it for a dinner party I had and everyone loved it... including the non-sushi eaters! I did omit the mac nuts and I used Aloha Shoyu sauce instead of regular soy sauce. I also used about 2 1/2 pounds. I will definitely be making this recipe many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Ahi Poke can be made many different ways. My favorite Ahi Poke was prepared by a Hawaiian BBQ restaurant. This recipe is similar to that of the restaurant. I added ginger (chopped small), white onion (sliced), lemon juice, and I used Shoyu sauce instead of regular soy sauce. It was delicious. My family asked for it two weekends in a row. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Onolicious! This is the basic shoyu poke style that you see everywhere in Hawaii. There are many different types of poke, so keep that in mind when comparing to the traditional Hawaiian poke made with inamona. Also, not every style of poke has seaweed in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Made it many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
i combined all the ingredients (minus the mac nuts) before i poured the mixture onto the tuna. i ended up using about 2/3 of everything. i definitely would agree with others that said to use low sodium soy sauce. i didn't and i thought it was way too salty. my friends thought it was good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JING_19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States