Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Didn't have macadamia nuts but didn't feel like it needed any. I let it marinate for about 2 hours. It was DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Using fresh ahi this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Having just returned from Hawaii we were still hungry for Ahi Poke which we ate there several times. I found this recipe and tried it and it was wonderful. Reducing the soy sauce was a great suggestion that I used. I toasted white and black sesame seeds and added them. I also made a light wasabe sauce to drizzle over the top, which is what we had in Hawaii and it really makes it pop. I will definitely be making this one when I get the craving again. Serving it is martini glasses is a really fun way to make an impression. A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
It was awesome! We get this dish as a shared appetizer at our local 5-star sushi joint and i decided to give it a try at home. I improvised from this recipe to try and match the way they make it at the restaurant. Made a much smaller amount because I was testing it out. Used 1 piece of sashimi tuna about 6" round by 1" thick. What I did different: Skipped the macadamia nuts. Eyeballed the soy sauce / sesame oil ratios (again – i made a smaller amount) I added some red pepper flakes that I ran through spice grinder for more powdery consistency Also add avocado to your shopping list. It’s about 1/2 avocado per serving. NOTE: DO NOT put avocado in marinate because it will break down and turn to mush. Wait until you're ready to plate to add avocado. Cut into similar sized chunks as the tuna. Next time – I’m going to try to find the orange roe and add a spoonful to the marinade. Came out VERY VERY close to the restaurant in flavor and consistency. We loved it! Absolutely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so easy and an absolute favorite with my family and friends. after i made it the first time they kept asking for more! and they still are! so i made it again and i will definitely be making this again in the future. i recommend only adding 1/2 cup soy sauce or less for every pound: i also ommited the mac nuts. the sesame oil is the secret ingredient here :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Reminds me of being in Hawaii. I did not make any changes. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
As well as dropping the macadamia nuts, I use SHOYU - a less salty & more flavorable style of soy sauce. I find SHOYU in my local Asian markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very very good. Actually better than what I've had at a local restaurant which is known for their Ahi Poke. I did add a touch of fresh ginger and left out the nuts. I made a small amount (1/2 lb of Ahi) just for me to try. I'll make this again for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I love ahi poke, 'dis da kine brah, melts in your mouth, ono. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of wasabi powder for a bite. The toasted sesame seeds and mac nuts adds a little crunch, which I love. I did use about 2 lbs. of ahi, fresh off the boat, had to clean fish myself, very fresh. MMM-YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this recipe as an appetizer for gourmet night (hawaiian theme) and it received rave reviews. I altered recipe based on reviews I read: I reduced soy sauce to 1/3 cup low sodium version based on using 1.5 lbs of yellowfin tuna (Cost Saving Tip: buy the tuna nuggets and price goes from $18/lb to $5/lb...same thing except leftovers not used for fillets/steaks). I used tabasco sauce instead of red pepper flakes & 1/3 cup chopped sweet onion with 1/3 cup green onions. I also added a tsp. of fresh grated ginger and the juice from 1 lemon. I, too, omitted the nuts and served on romaine lettuce leaves. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali :-)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States