Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so easy and an absolute favorite with my family and friends. after i made it the first time they kept asking for more! and they still are! so i made it again and i will definitely be making this again in the future. i recommend only adding 1/2 cup soy sauce or less for every pound: i also ommited the mac nuts. the sesame oil is the secret ingredient here :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Reminds me of being in Hawaii. I did not make any changes. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
As well as dropping the macadamia nuts, I use SHOYU - a less salty & more flavorable style of soy sauce. I find SHOYU in my local Asian markets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very very good. Actually better than what I've had at a local restaurant which is known for their Ahi Poke. I did add a touch of fresh ginger and left out the nuts. I made a small amount (1/2 lb of Ahi) just for me to try. I'll make this again for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I love ahi poke, 'dis da kine brah, melts in your mouth, ono. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of wasabi powder for a bite. The toasted sesame seeds and mac nuts adds a little crunch, which I love. I did use about 2 lbs. of ahi, fresh off the boat, had to clean fish myself, very fresh. MMM-YUMMMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this recipe as an appetizer for gourmet night (hawaiian theme) and it received rave reviews. I altered recipe based on reviews I read: I reduced soy sauce to 1/3 cup low sodium version based on using 1.5 lbs of yellowfin tuna (Cost Saving Tip: buy the tuna nuggets and price goes from $18/lb to $5/lb...same thing except leftovers not used for fillets/steaks). I used tabasco sauce instead of red pepper flakes & 1/3 cup chopped sweet onion with 1/3 cup green onions. I also added a tsp. of fresh grated ginger and the juice from 1 lemon. I, too, omitted the nuts and served on romaine lettuce leaves. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali :-)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Substitute the mac nuts and green onions for thin sliced sweet onions. Absolutely deee-licious!! Or, as the locals in Hawaii say.."Broke da mouth!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It's good, but some limu is alwase a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This isn't good at all. I live in Hawaii and we sometimes get free ahi. I like the taste of poke better with cubed ahi, sesame oil, shoyu, tahini, a dash of oyster sauce, chopped chives, chopped maui onion, minced garlic, and seaweed. All to taste. You can omit the oyster sauce or omit the garlic. I would not recommend making this "nut" version at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Love this recipe. Every time I serve this at a party, I always get requests for the recipe. It taste great served on fried wonton chips and also on toast points. It's a winner and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States