Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
I made this with rare sashimi-grade tuna, eliminated the macademia nuts and added some radish sprouts (found in Japanese markets). It was a perfect starter for our Japanese dinner, and everyone was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
one of my favorite foods when in Hawaii is the poke. This recipe is simple, and tastes just like that in the better resorts I've dined in. I too skipped the nuts in the recipe and find the better grade tuna you can find, the better this recipe turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is great!! I have never had this with Macadamia nuts before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Excellent pupu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This was a great recipe. I didn't use the macadamia nuts, or the sesame seeds, but instead used some minced garlic. It turned out like a lot of the hawaiian restaurants in my area. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
YUMMY! I use to get this at a sushi bar, and now I can make it at home! It's delicious! Try it over sticky rice! I took out the macadamia nuts (which I really don't care for) but I added cucumber and boiled octopus and it is exactly the way they serve it at my favorite sushi bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
this is really wonderful IF you and your guests like raw fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This was a delicious recipe! Be sure to use very fresh good tuna though! I cooked the leftovers on skewers the next day and it was flaky and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
FANTASTIC. I would recommend halving the amount of soy, so you can enjoy the delicate flavor of the tuna. I used 1/4 cup of soy/teriyaki sauce (for 1 pound of tuna) and it was the perfect amount. I too omitted the nuts and instead of red pepper I dusted a little wasabi powder over the top. I served with sticky rice, a cucumber salad, and sake, and my boyfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful little Japanese dinner at home. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is a *REALLY* good recipe if you like raw fish. Great easy dinner served with Sushi rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States