Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2000
I made this with rare sashimi-grade tuna, eliminated the macademia nuts and added some radish sprouts (found in Japanese markets). It was a perfect starter for our Japanese dinner, and everyone was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
one of my favorite foods when in Hawaii is the poke. This recipe is simple, and tastes just like that in the better resorts I've dined in. I too skipped the nuts in the recipe and find the better grade tuna you can find, the better this recipe turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is great!! I have never had this with Macadamia nuts before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
Excellent pupu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
This was a great recipe. I didn't use the macadamia nuts, or the sesame seeds, but instead used some minced garlic. It turned out like a lot of the hawaiian restaurants in my area. I love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
YUMMY! I use to get this at a sushi bar, and now I can make it at home! It's delicious! Try it over sticky rice! I took out the macadamia nuts (which I really don't care for) but I added cucumber and boiled octopus and it is exactly the way they serve it at my favorite sushi bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
this is really wonderful IF you and your guests like raw fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This was a delicious recipe! Be sure to use very fresh good tuna though! I cooked the leftovers on skewers the next day and it was flaky and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
FANTASTIC. I would recommend halving the amount of soy, so you can enjoy the delicate flavor of the tuna. I used 1/4 cup of soy/teriyaki sauce (for 1 pound of tuna) and it was the perfect amount. I too omitted the nuts and instead of red pepper I dusted a little wasabi powder over the top. I served with sticky rice, a cucumber salad, and sake, and my boyfriend and I enjoyed a wonderful little Japanese dinner at home. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
This is a *REALLY* good recipe if you like raw fish. Great easy dinner served with Sushi rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States