Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Real poke should have some seaweed, but I think it's a type that you're not going to find on the mainland (except maybe around SF). This recipe was a fantastic "mainland imitation." I would cut back on the soy to suit your taste, but be sure to use a good quality soy since so much of this flavor is based on that seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yummy! try with cilantro for a little twist, or a kimchee base sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We devoured this. Tasted like the Poke we got at the Grand Hyatt in Kauai! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I have made this twice now and it has come out great each time. It is very easy to make and is very tasty. I don't use 100% soy sauce...I follow some of the other commenter's suggestions and use 50% terriyaki sauce and 50% soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Oh so yummy! I used fresh wasabi paste instead of the crushed red pepper for heat and also added diced avocado to make the poke even more silky and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Crazy good! Like having Sushi in a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Poke does not have mac nuts in it. NEVER. The native "kukui nut" is some times added after it has been made into a preparation called "inamona." It does not taste like mac nuts. Leave out the mac nuts and add only enough shoyu to coat the fish and you'll have a modern rendition on poke. The more traditional poke is made from raw fish, sea-salt, inamona, and seaweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
We frequently eat tuna and hubby likes to rub the fish with sesame oil and sprinkle with sesame seeds. He then gives it a one minute sear on a very high heat. I happen to have some frozen from a previous dinner party, so this worked out perfectly for me. I didn't measure any of the ingredients, just eyeballed. The dish turned out fabulously Josh and I thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Great Taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States