Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Good,but omit the mac nuts and have wasabi with aloha shoyu on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
It was ok, next time I'd cut down the red pepper, even though I like spicy, this ended up too spicy, even hubby thought so. Didn't add the nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thrasher'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was awesome! I made it for a dinner party I had and everyone loved it... including the non-sushi eaters! I did omit the mac nuts and I used Aloha Shoyu sauce instead of regular soy sauce. I also used about 2 1/2 pounds. I will definitely be making this recipe many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Ahi Poke can be made many different ways. My favorite Ahi Poke was prepared by a Hawaiian BBQ restaurant. This recipe is similar to that of the restaurant. I added ginger (chopped small), white onion (sliced), lemon juice, and I used Shoyu sauce instead of regular soy sauce. It was delicious. My family asked for it two weekends in a row. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Onolicious! This is the basic shoyu poke style that you see everywhere in Hawaii. There are many different types of poke, so keep that in mind when comparing to the traditional Hawaiian poke made with inamona. Also, not every style of poke has seaweed in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Absolutely amazing! Made it many times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
i combined all the ingredients (minus the mac nuts) before i poured the mixture onto the tuna. i ended up using about 2/3 of everything. i definitely would agree with others that said to use low sodium soy sauce. i didn't and i thought it was way too salty. my friends thought it was good still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JING_19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paige
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Loved it! Served it with crispy wonton chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious...however, I like it a tad better when I use low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Real poke should have some seaweed, but I think it's a type that you're not going to find on the mainland (except maybe around SF). This recipe was a fantastic "mainland imitation." I would cut back on the soy to suit your taste, but be sure to use a good quality soy since so much of this flavor is based on that seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States