Ahi Poke Basic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I don't remember having macadamia nuts in the poke I had while living in Hawaii. And....ummmmm....what about the SEAWEED and HAWAIIAN SALT? And yes, that is WAY too much soy sauce! I will not be trying this at all. I didn't even want to give this one star since it is missing two main components.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Basic! That explains this recipe. I made it as the recipe said to give it a fair review. For me, there isn't enough depth of flavor there. It needed a lot less soy sauce, more sesame oil, garlic and some heat. It was a good basic recipe but I will be working to perfect it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I loved it! based on other reviews I didn't add nuts- I did add some chopped up mango and celantro though and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Padre Island, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I was glad to find this recipe. It was a good place to start and get an idea of what I wanted to do with my Poke. I defiantly did not need that much soy sauce, and I added some lemon juice, sesame oil, and hot chili oil added to the sesame seeds, sweet white and green onions. No Mac nuts were needed. I didn't want to modify the fish too much because I do t feel Poke needs to be anything but simple. It's delicious as a simple, basic recipe. Some rice with it and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Great recipe! A bit too much soy sauce. Added kobiko ( flying fish roe) and ogo ( hawaiian red sea weed) to give it the traditional Hawaiian flavors. Just like the island poke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Pretty decent standard recipe to get you started... I'll add a few of my additions. I use light soy sauce.. it's better for you, and less salty. I also add some diced cucumber and small cubed avocado (add that for a toss or two after you've tossed everything else a few time so as not to smash the avocado). I also add a little sirachi sauce instead of the red pepper. Sometimes a little shredded seaweed can be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G1GANT3
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I added less soy sauce, i love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Make it easier on yourself and order the poke sauce in a bottle : Poke King Hawaiian Poke Sauce at Amazon or www.pokesauce.com ...a little spicy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made this for a Hawaiian themed get-together and we all RAVED about it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Great eats, I hate the food "Nazi's" that say you can't use this or that, it al good! Really, where would you find kuku nut in Nebraska?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States