Agua de Jamaica (Hibiscus Water) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
As the first reviewer dagirlandei stated, this Is good but an exaggerated version of Jamaica. When it comes tho this drink, the K.I.S.S rule should be applied: Keep It Simple Stupid. This is just tea and should be treated as such, brew it, add sugar to taste, and let it cool. All the cinnamon and piloncillo take away from the Jamaica flavor. This is a really refreshing and healthy drink if drinking it as regular iced tea, kind of like a lighter version of cranberry juice, it is also great for kidney and bladder problems like cranberry juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yummy! This is the first time I attempted to make agua de jamica and it was really good. I did a tester for today and will be making a big jug of this stuff for my sons birthday served with tacos. My hubby and children loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moniqreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made this drink so many times in the last couple of years and we love it! I gave the recipe to a few people already and they love it as well..I never liked agua de jamaica at mex. restaurants until i tried this homemade version.. oh sooo good with lots of ice!!!No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Hibiscus Water/Agua de Jamaica/Sorrel is also VERY popular througout the Caribbean. We serve it as is or spiked with rum or even frozen as granita. This recipe is EXACTLY how I was raised to make it in Puerto Rico. It puts the REFRESH in to REFRESHment! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe! Made it exactly as posted, and it's delicious! Will be fun to add a little more cinnamon, etc., when Fall & Winter come (we live in AZ and can drink iced beverages all year). A great alternative to traditional iced drinks - and really fun for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
love the recipe its more like the Puerto Rican one but thats fine because I'm Puerto Rican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had to increase the amount of water as it was a bit too strong. Other than that... great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I have it 2 stars because it's good. But not five because This is an exaggerated version of the Mexican Jamaica Drink. Both my parents are from Michoacan, Mex and my mother herself only boils Hibiscus leaves for a good 2 hours to extract all the flavor and color and as it's hot she adds Mexican sugar (not the piloncillo which has a different after taste, but course, unbleached, Mexican sugar) and that is it. I tried this recipe, and although good, it's not Mexican Jamaica, it heavily resembles that from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I added some tropical Green Tea to my first batch. I love Jamaica anyway I can get it, but I always like to add some sort of interesting tea to my homemade Jamaica. It always adds another level to the fragrant bouquet this drink already leaves behind after each slow sip. Mmm MMM! Perfect for Summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
AWESOME!! I don't have a gallon pitcher, so I halved the recipe, got a lil too much nutmeg (oops!) still delicious. Going to try to gradually reduce the sugar. Excellent recipe. Thank you SB!! UPDATE: This has become my quaff du summer. In a 1/2 gl pitcher I've reduced the sugar to 1 medium cone of piloncillo and 1/2 c. white sugar. For some added goodness, I've squeezed a lime or two or three in it as well, so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States