Agua de Jamaica (Hibiscus Water) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
it's funny my mother always made this drink for us, we could not afford regular soda.....like anything that you make in the kitchen, you will find 1000 different versions of the same thing.... all of them to be equally appreciated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I just made this and it is AMAZING. I altered it a little, because I didn't have piloncillo. I also only used 3/4 c. of sugar (I'm not a huge fan of sweet drinks). Also, before I dumped some in my cup I squeezed 1/4 of a lime into my cup, put ice on top and then dumped the tea on top. It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Macias
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I love the spices suggested in this recipe! ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg really compliment this drink. I always add about 1/4 tsp ground clove and I don't add water at the end, this gives it a really strong flavor and let's who ever is drinking it to add water to their taste. I'm Irish and my Hubby's Mexican and every time his friends come by the ask me to make it.... such a compliment! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Macias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Yummy! This is the first time I attempted to make agua de jamica and it was really good. I did a tester for today and will be making a big jug of this stuff for my sons birthday served with tacos. My hubby and children loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moniqreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made this drink so many times in the last couple of years and we love it! I gave the recipe to a few people already and they love it as well..I never liked agua de jamaica at mex. restaurants until i tried this homemade version.. oh sooo good with lots of ice!!!No need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Hibiscus Water/Agua de Jamaica/Sorrel is also VERY popular througout the Caribbean. We serve it as is or spiked with rum or even frozen as granita. This recipe is EXACTLY how I was raised to make it in Puerto Rico. It puts the REFRESH in to REFRESHment! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe! Made it exactly as posted, and it's delicious! Will be fun to add a little more cinnamon, etc., when Fall & Winter come (we live in AZ and can drink iced beverages all year). A great alternative to traditional iced drinks - and really fun for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
love the recipe its more like the Puerto Rican one but thats fine because I'm Puerto Rican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I had to increase the amount of water as it was a bit too strong. Other than that... great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fatima E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I have it 2 stars because it's good. But not five because This is an exaggerated version of the Mexican Jamaica Drink. Both my parents are from Michoacan, Mex and my mother herself only boils Hibiscus leaves for a good 2 hours to extract all the flavor and color and as it's hot she adds Mexican sugar (not the piloncillo which has a different after taste, but course, unbleached, Mexican sugar) and that is it. I tried this recipe, and although good, it's not Mexican Jamaica, it heavily resembles that from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States