Aggression ( Oatmeal ) Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
These are simple to make but instead of all the mess of the butter, glass and sugar, I just put the sugar in a small saucer, flattened the cookie on it and turned it sugar size up onto the cookie pan. Much easier. And they are very DELICIOUS! Thank you, L.A. Stevens, this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
L.A., thank you for saving my day. I had a little group of five year olds to babysit one day. I had already decided I wanted to corral them in the kitchen where I have easy clean-up vinyl.(Oy! I'm too old for this!) Anyway, I put out the bowls as you suggested along with little bowls of M&Ms, raisins, and dried fruit pieces. They all had a great time pressing their goodies into these cookies and comparing notes. Thank you for not only a tasty recipe, but for a great idea to keep children entertained on a rainy Seattle day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Nice and easy, tasty too. I did not use the full amount of sugar and I used whole wheat flour. An easy way to make cookies a touch healthy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Bwah hah hah! These were awesome! I needed to keep my 3½-year old out of the way so we could get a new furnace in the house, and this was great! Instead of butter, we used half margarine and half apple sauce. She was hesitant to smoosh the ingredients with her fingers (she's used to me using beaters), so I helped her do it. After flattening the cookies to about ½", we decorated the tops with Craisins and Smarties (Canadian M&Ms, only better!). They only took maybe 8 minutes to cook. Since we didn't flatten them much, they ended up being thicker, softer cookies, although the one-third size batch (2 cups of oats) only made 3 dozen cookies. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing, L.A. This was fun. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
My 2 1/2-year-old and I just made these cookies and they were great! Easy and quick, they taste like the ones my grandmother kept in her cookie jar. Tip-for thicker, chewier cookies, don't flatten(but don't make em bigger than suggested). (update: made this again with 1 cup old fashioned oats and 1 cup quick oats = perfect texture!!! try it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunn, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
It was great for the kids to make easy ingredients and really wasn't that messy. I read the other reviews for great tips to make it even more fun for kids and yummy. My youngerkids didn't love it as much as my older ones but by "tweaking" recipe with other goodies it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I thought these were a great cookie. Especially for kids to help bake. I made these with my 3 year old and we had a great time! I made them just as stated but I cut the recipe in half. I shouldn't have because my husband took them to work and everyone raved. I will have to make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This simple oatmeal cookie recipe resulted in some great tasting cookies. I didn’t add any nuts or dried fruits to the recipe and I didn’t even top the cookies with any sugar and, to me, the cookies turned out great. I think this recipe is a great “foundation” recipe for making a variety of different types of oatmeal cookies. I love how easy it is to make these cookies. I even liked mashing the ingredients together. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Crumbly little messes. All in all, a waste of good oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this exact recipe 3 days ago. It was like the potato chip commercial..."bet ya can't eat just one". I sized up the recipe by an additional 50% to get rid of an excess of butter on hand. Big mistake! lol I thought I would NEVER get done pressing these out! lol I put the oatmeal in last so I could feel the ingredients fully mix and there were no granuals of brown sugar slipping between my fingers. I found the best texture was to bake for 10 minutes and catch it exactly before the cookie starts to burn at the edges to get a crisp cookie without a burned bitter taste but still nice and light and buttery at the same time. Consistency in size is key. I packed them in between paper towels to get rid of the excess butter so they did not have a greasy feel. My guests couldn't keep their hands off of these! I believe getting the bake time tuned just right can kick up these tasty morsels an extra notch. They were even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newjerseybt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States