After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I added 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder, 2 Tbsp Onion Powder, 2 heaping Tbsp Minced garlic, a little salt and a little pepper. Only added noodles with no rice. It was FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The family LOVES when I make this! I dont add the potaoes however. I need to make this more than once a year. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Absolutely NO WASTE from our Easter ham with this recipe, but there's good and bad news; bad, my didn't look half as good as the picture, good, bet it tasted just as GOOD...!!! I took some of the advice from past reviews and modified mine with "what I had", used fresh carrots and celery instead of frozen veggies, used larger can of tomatoes and tomato sauce, substituted brown rice instead of long grain, plus a bit MORE ham and "the rest is history"..!!! Did not require any added seasoning/spices, all the flavor came from the ham bone and ingredients...cook time was just about spot on from directions, LOVE THIS SOUP...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I read the recipe, went through my refrigerator and threw things together as this recipe did. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Nice Recipe. Althought I did not follow it to a 'T', it was a good base for me. What I did was boil the ham bone for about 1.5hrs. Chilled the broth to remove the majority of grease before continuing on. For seasoning, I added two Tbsp garlic flakes, 2 tsp onion flakes, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp black pepper and about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. (tailor to fit your own tastes) Next I added one can of diced tomatoes-undrained. About two cups each of frozen carrots, green beans, peas, and corn. Also added one can of light kidney beans-drained and rinsed. Next I added about a cup of Quinoa rather than rice. I also omitted the potatoes and noodles as I like to have soup 'healthy' and not full of too many carbs. Right now it is coming to a boil and I will let it simmer for a good hour, then enjoy! So far the flavor is wonderful. The Cayenne gives it a good zip! Mmmm Thanks for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the advice of others. I added garlic, salt, pepper and parsley. I omitted the macaroni and used only rice. I added rice 35 min. before end of cook time and cooked soup for a total 1 hr. 15 min. We thought it was delicious with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and with a few minor alterations it was great. I used my slow cooker and cooked my leftover Holiday ham with a couple cans of chicken broth and water. After it cooked for about an hour, I added chopped celery, carrots and an onion. Added a couple bay leaves and cooked for about another hour or so, I then added some vegetable juice I had on hand. Added rice stirred back in the ham that I cut off the bone. Added a can of corn, butter beans, macaroni, Rotel and a can of diced tomatoes then added the potatoes. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I put the ham bone and extra ham on high in a big crockpot filled with non-fat chicken soup stock. Scraped off the grease that formed on the top. Added carrots, potatoes, celery (skipped frozen vegetables) about 2 or so hrs before done. Added rice 20 minutes before as someone suggested. I would skip the macaroni next time and add more rice as macaroni gets mushy in storage. MOST IMPORTANT CHANGE IS TO ADD 2 (11.5 OZ.) OF SPICY V8 JUICE. THis makes it a 5 star in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
As with any recipe I add or delete ingredients. This was very good with a bit of garlic and oregano added. I used navy beans and cooked it a lot longer than called for because of the beans. I added oregano and garlic with a few green beans. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Yummy! I added the rice and noodle later .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States