After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I added 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder, 2 Tbsp Onion Powder, 2 heaping Tbsp Minced garlic, a little salt and a little pepper. Only added noodles with no rice. It was FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
The family LOVES when I make this! I dont add the potaoes however. I need to make this more than once a year. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Absolutely NO WASTE from our Easter ham with this recipe, but there's good and bad news; bad, my didn't look half as good as the picture, good, bet it tasted just as GOOD...!!! I took some of the advice from past reviews and modified mine with "what I had", used fresh carrots and celery instead of frozen veggies, used larger can of tomatoes and tomato sauce, substituted brown rice instead of long grain, plus a bit MORE ham and "the rest is history"..!!! Did not require any added seasoning/spices, all the flavor came from the ham bone and ingredients...cook time was just about spot on from directions, LOVE THIS SOUP...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I read the recipe, went through my refrigerator and threw things together as this recipe did. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Liked this a lot though truth be told I did not follow the cooking directions at all. Simmered ham, mixed veg, tomatoes, tomato sauce and potato for about 30 min and then added macaroni only (rice and pasta just seem too much, my own opinion of course) and cooked until pasta was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Nice Recipe. Althought I did not follow it to a 'T', it was a good base for me. What I did was boil the ham bone for about 1.5hrs. Chilled the broth to remove the majority of grease before continuing on. For seasoning, I added two Tbsp garlic flakes, 2 tsp onion flakes, 2 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp black pepper and about 1/4tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. (tailor to fit your own tastes) Next I added one can of diced tomatoes-undrained. About two cups each of frozen carrots, green beans, peas, and corn. Also added one can of light kidney beans-drained and rinsed. Next I added about a cup of Quinoa rather than rice. I also omitted the potatoes and noodles as I like to have soup 'healthy' and not full of too many carbs. Right now it is coming to a boil and I will let it simmer for a good hour, then enjoy! So far the flavor is wonderful. The Cayenne gives it a good zip! Mmmm Thanks for Sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Two Rivers, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and with a few minor alterations it was great. I used my slow cooker and cooked my leftover Holiday ham with a couple cans of chicken broth and water. After it cooked for about an hour, I added chopped celery, carrots and an onion. Added a couple bay leaves and cooked for about another hour or so, I then added some vegetable juice I had on hand. Added rice stirred back in the ham that I cut off the bone. Added a can of corn, butter beans, macaroni, Rotel and a can of diced tomatoes then added the potatoes. Very yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the advice of others. I added garlic, salt, pepper and parsley. I omitted the macaroni and used only rice. I added rice 35 min. before end of cook time and cooked soup for a total 1 hr. 15 min. We thought it was delicious with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I put the ham bone and extra ham on high in a big crockpot filled with non-fat chicken soup stock. Scraped off the grease that formed on the top. Added carrots, potatoes, celery (skipped frozen vegetables) about 2 or so hrs before done. Added rice 20 minutes before as someone suggested. I would skip the macaroni next time and add more rice as macaroni gets mushy in storage. MOST IMPORTANT CHANGE IS TO ADD 2 (11.5 OZ.) OF SPICY V8 JUICE. THis makes it a 5 star in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
As with any recipe I add or delete ingredients. This was very good with a bit of garlic and oregano added. I used navy beans and cooked it a lot longer than called for because of the beans. I added oregano and garlic with a few green beans. Came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States