After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The flavor of this was very good. I think there must be an error in the amount of time the pasta and rice cooks.An hour and a half was way too long. It was very mushy. I think if they were added w/ only 15-20 minutes remaining it would have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
GREAT recipie, i cooked it for 1 Hr, added fresh carrots and celery, and omitted the macaroni and just added rice GREAT!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This sounded really different from the old potato and ham soup, but my family did not care for it. I think it was using noodles and rice together. I will try again but only use either rice or noodles. I have really picky eaters when it comes to those ing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I added 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder, 2 Tbsp Onion Powder, 2 heaping Tbsp Minced garlic, a little salt and a little pepper. Only added noodles with no rice. It was FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious. The cooking time was weird though. My pasta and veggies came out mushy, plus the potatoes were completely gone (melted away). I suggest this cook time instead. Boil, then simmer ham bone med- low - 1 hr Add potatoes - 30 min Add all other ingredients except tomato sauce - 30 min For flavor, I added garlic & onion powder & boullion cubes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very bland. Needs some spices to give it some flavor. Added the noodles with only a 1/2 hour of cooking time left. Noodles were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, no changes made. Felt it needed something else. I have other recipes for soup that uses a ham bone which I would choose over this one. It isn't bad, but it just isn't a keeper for me. My husband did say it tasted better than he thought it was going to. I kept my opinion to myself until after he had a bowl. I was hoping it would have more flavor but just didn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Yummy! I added the rice and noodle later .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was an okay recipe with some tweeking. I thought the ham would have given it more of a salty flavor,but didn't. . . I did add the seasonings suggested by other reviewers, and I used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. . . Once spooned out in bowls I added a ton of pepper and cheese as a topper which made it better. I also omitted the pasta and just did cooked rice. I just thought it didn't need more carbs in it with the potatoes as well. Also for my family of 4 (two kids 6 and 3) it made WAY TOO MUCH. I think I would have been happier using my ham bone with a white bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good, very thick. Would add more liquid the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States