After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The flavor of this was very good. I think there must be an error in the amount of time the pasta and rice cooks.An hour and a half was way too long. It was very mushy. I think if they were added w/ only 15-20 minutes remaining it would have been delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
GREAT recipie, i cooked it for 1 Hr, added fresh carrots and celery, and omitted the macaroni and just added rice GREAT!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This sounded really different from the old potato and ham soup, but my family did not care for it. I think it was using noodles and rice together. I will try again but only use either rice or noodles. I have really picky eaters when it comes to those ing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I added 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder, 2 Tbsp Onion Powder, 2 heaping Tbsp Minced garlic, a little salt and a little pepper. Only added noodles with no rice. It was FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious. The cooking time was weird though. My pasta and veggies came out mushy, plus the potatoes were completely gone (melted away). I suggest this cook time instead. Boil, then simmer ham bone med- low - 1 hr Add potatoes - 30 min Add all other ingredients except tomato sauce - 30 min For flavor, I added garlic & onion powder & boullion cubes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very bland. Needs some spices to give it some flavor. Added the noodles with only a 1/2 hour of cooking time left. Noodles were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, no changes made. Felt it needed something else. I have other recipes for soup that uses a ham bone which I would choose over this one. It isn't bad, but it just isn't a keeper for me. My husband did say it tasted better than he thought it was going to. I kept my opinion to myself until after he had a bowl. I was hoping it would have more flavor but just didn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Yummy! I added the rice and noodle later .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was an okay recipe with some tweeking. I thought the ham would have given it more of a salty flavor,but didn't. . . I did add the seasonings suggested by other reviewers, and I used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. . . Once spooned out in bowls I added a ton of pepper and cheese as a topper which made it better. I also omitted the pasta and just did cooked rice. I just thought it didn't need more carbs in it with the potatoes as well. Also for my family of 4 (two kids 6 and 3) it made WAY TOO MUCH. I think I would have been happier using my ham bone with a white bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good, very thick. Would add more liquid the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States