After the Holidays Ham Bone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed the advice of others. I added garlic, salt, pepper and parsley. I omitted the macaroni and used only rice. I added rice 35 min. before end of cook time and cooked soup for a total 1 hr. 15 min. We thought it was delicious with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe needs seasonings and I found that it was just too mushy with not enough ham in it. Macaroni, rice and potatoes is too much starch and carbs for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was an okay recipe with some tweeking. I thought the ham would have given it more of a salty flavor,but didn't. . . I did add the seasonings suggested by other reviewers, and I used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. . . Once spooned out in bowls I added a ton of pepper and cheese as a topper which made it better. I also omitted the pasta and just did cooked rice. I just thought it didn't need more carbs in it with the potatoes as well. Also for my family of 4 (two kids 6 and 3) it made WAY TOO MUCH. I think I would have been happier using my ham bone with a white bean soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, no changes made. Felt it needed something else. I have other recipes for soup that uses a ham bone which I would choose over this one. It isn't bad, but it just isn't a keeper for me. My husband did say it tasted better than he thought it was going to. I kept my opinion to myself until after he had a bowl. I was hoping it would have more flavor but just didn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Good, very thick. Would add more liquid the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicious. The cooking time was weird though. My pasta and veggies came out mushy, plus the potatoes were completely gone (melted away). I suggest this cook time instead. Boil, then simmer ham bone med- low - 1 hr Add potatoes - 30 min Add all other ingredients except tomato sauce - 30 min For flavor, I added garlic & onion powder & boullion cubes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Yummy! I added the rice and noodle later .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I added 2 Tbsp Garlic Powder, 2 Tbsp Onion Powder, 2 heaping Tbsp Minced garlic, a little salt and a little pepper. Only added noodles with no rice. It was FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very bland. Needs some spices to give it some flavor. Added the noodles with only a 1/2 hour of cooking time left. Noodles were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
GREAT recipie, i cooked it for 1 Hr, added fresh carrots and celery, and omitted the macaroni and just added rice GREAT!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States