After-Christmas Turkey Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband LOVES this recipe! I use cream of chicken soup instead of the mushroom, and instead of the frozen green beans I use up the leftover green bean casserole. Turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I didn't use the Thyme and Pepper. Instead I used Season Salt, 2 tso. Emeril's Essence, 3 tbsp. ap flour, 1/2 tsp. Oregano, and 1/2 tsp Marjoram. I also didn't cook the green beans before adding them. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Excellent! I have also made this with ground beef or chicken. Easily customizable. It says that it serves 6, but everyone will want more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Fabulous go-to recipe! It's easy to make, and is a perfect way to use up any leftover bird. I use a bag of frozen peas and carrots instead of green beans and carrots, but I follow the rest pretty closely. I'm not a big thyme fan so I cut that in half - personal preference though. I'll be making this tonight and I can't wait. Frozen pot pies are a thing of the past - you can't be satisfied with them after this. Oh! I agree with another post that indicated that they use deep dish pie crusts and still have an abundance of filling - am I doing something wrong? My pie always has a heaping mound :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I really liked how easy and quick this is to assemble. I used a can and a half of the soup, but other than that followed the directions exactly and it turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_CarolineS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great recipe! We fried a turkey for Christmas and it was still great. The turkey was a little more shredded then cubed and I used a can and a half of cream of mushroom soup. Next time we have leftover turkey, I am making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Great recipe and super easy to make. It was my first time making pot pie and it turned out perfect. My husband who's starting to get sick of our leftover turkey really enjoyed this and even had seconds. Doubling the soup made the filling a bit more soupy, which is just the way I like it. I didn't have green beans on hand so I just added frozen peas instead. Like another reviewer, I used a Tenderflake frozen pie crust. This is delicious and I will be making it again throughout the year with chicken instead of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a hit with my family of 4; including a 3 yo and a 9 yo! I used the green beans with onions I made for Christmas dinner, and the carrots I made, as well. My husband really loved the "thick" consistency. He was able to cut a slice without all the insides falling out. This recipe is on our "to do" list after each turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Cush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Thank you for a great and simple recipe for using turkey. I did add one medium potato, peeled and cubed small, boiled al dente and added with the veggies. I used frozen peas and carrots instead of green beans and added 1/8 tsp each of rubbed sage, oregano, white pepper. Also chopped small one jar of mushrooms. I also substituted white sauce instead of canned soup- double the normal recipe for white sauce and it is perfect. I used a convection oven for approx 50 minutes at 350 with the edges of pie covered entire time with foil. Also used disposable foil pie plate sprayed with PAM and it turned out perfectly cooked & easy to serve. Thanks to everyone for sharing their tips...it really helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love this!!! Made as written.thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States