African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I loved this. I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and 1 24oz can (I think) of canned sweet potatoes instead of the fresh versions, just to speed things up. The only problem I had was finding a saucepan big enough to fit all the ingredients in! I ended up only adding half of the "water" (I used veggie broth instead) at first and not adding the other half until the end when the peanut butter was added. I used crunchy peanut butter rather than peanut butter + peanuts. Cilantro on top was great! I pureed about half of the soup and left the other half chunky. I served it over brown rice in a bowl. A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This soup is very good. It has such a unique combination of flavors. I love peanut butter so I doubled the amount called for and it turned out great. The leftovers actually tasted better the next day so I think next time I'll make it ahead of time, since it is fairly time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe is inexpensive, easy, quick to make and was a HUGE hit at the party at which I served it. There was only one total vegetarian there, but the omnivores gobbled it down, even though there was another pot of soup (which also got rave reviews) and other food there. This soup was the hit of the night. It has an exotic taste (much like Indian food, as you can imagine from the spices, plus I used garam masala instead of the cinnamon and cloves), but that nice, nutty peanut butter flavour is there as well. The only other thing I did different than the recipe was omit usage of the blender. I just smashed it all together with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I have made this about four times and have it down to a science. It is my favorite recipe that I have made from AllRecipes so far. Flavorful, interesting and easy. The only shortcuts I take are canned tomatoes and chunky peanut butter. The cilantro on top really completes this soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe! I used a 900 ml carton of vegetable broth instead of the water and added a 19 oz can of chickpeas. I used 2 medium-sized yams, rather than sweet potatoes, and I don't know how much they weighed. I only pureed about half of the recipe and then added 1/4c of dried black currants at the end and let it cook for another 5 minutes to plump the currants. Adding the fruit made this recipe similar to the Delicious Chickpea Curry (also on this site), but this was so much better with the peanut butter and chopped peanuts. Really good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
As is, I give it a 4 star. I actually used 4 cups of vegetable broth, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 loaded tsps of cumin and coriander, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, about 4 tbls of peanut butter, and added half of a jalepeno pepper. I omitted the peanuts and used chunky peanut butter instead. With the revisions, it came out much more flavorful and delicious. We paired this with a simple tuna melt which was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This is a really good vegetarian soup. If it is served with rice you get a complete protein. When I made it I substituted vege stock for the water, cooked it longer and blended it less. I think if i was making it for company I would blend it thoroughly and top it with a little fresh tomato along with the cilantro. It is a beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made this soup as a filling meal following my husband's dental surgery (he must eat soft foods). Wonderful, comforting, interesting rich flavor; my husband loved it. Like others, I used canned sweet potatoes, canned tomatoes and crunchy peanut butter. The fresh chopped cilantro really set off the flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
mmmm. only blended half the soup for some wonderful chunks. also, if you are looking for lower fat, skip the peanut butter and its still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe!! I added a little extra cayenne pepper because I like it spicy, but other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States