African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This soup is marvelous. When it came time to puree it, I ran into some problems - my food processor wouldn't turn on, our blender started to smoke when I plugged it in, and I ended up *trying* to use a hand held mixer. I got most of the sweet potatos pureed, but there were some carrot and mushroom (I added them because I love them) chunks still. I don't recommend using this method - it got pretty messy. However, this did not affect the taste in anyway. I took some advice and used the reduced-fat super chunky peanut butter, and added a lot more spices than the recipe calls for. It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
LOVE this. It's part of my regular rotation of recipes -- I make it for company (it always makes an impression!), or I make a ton of it and pack the left-overs for school or work lunches. It's even better reheated! I don't make any changes except substituting a generous amount of garam masala for the cumin - cloves. It's a comparable mix of spices with a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
As is, I give it a 4 star. I actually used 4 cups of vegetable broth, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 loaded tsps of cumin and coriander, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, about 4 tbls of peanut butter, and added half of a jalepeno pepper. I omitted the peanuts and used chunky peanut butter instead. With the revisions, it came out much more flavorful and delicious. We paired this with a simple tuna melt which was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yum! I trimmed this down to serve 2. I doubled the peanut butter and added more cumin and coriander. I used Kraft natural peanut butter, which has a wonderfully strong peanuty taste. The soup was fantastic! Peanut-y and rich, with a delicious, complex flavour. Wonderful! Both of us really enjoyed it & I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I was slightly disappointed at first, but like others have commented, the soup definitely improves overnight, and I was quite happy with it the next day. I used slightly more chunky peanut butter than called for and omitted the chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was one of those recipes that I really wanted to like but just didn't. After following the recipe I thought it was bland, and it still was even after I dumped in more spices at the end. Also, I didn't like the gritty texture from the peanuts and it was a chore to finish off the leftovers. This soup has potential, but next time I'd try a recipe with more spices and more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was fantastic! We used crunchy peanut butter and lightly salted crushed peanuts(plastic bag and hammer). We did add a little extra hots with crushed red pepper at the very beginning and extra cayenne pepper. We also used chicken stock instead of plain water. Next time we are going to shred the cilantro and add into the soup as well use it for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARIAN and REBECCA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
If I had the option I would have given this 3.5 stars. It was ok but not fabulous. It seemed to be missing something but I'm not quite sure what. It was almost like the spices didn't quite come through. The cayenne at the end helped a lot but I'm not sure I will make this again. I think I will just continue to search for a better sweet potato soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe was ok. It was easy to make and not bad. But it also wasn't great. Just unimpressive. I think I expected it to be a little spicier and I even added more cayenne than the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Perfect, just like the african soup I tasted in Hawaii. I loved it!!!! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States