African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This soup is wonderful if you wait a day before having so the flavors have some time to come together. I make over the weekend and have for lunch at work and it saves wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last night. Very good - although I ended up adding more of the listed spices as it was initially bland -also I plan on making w/ vegetable broth next to make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I work at a farmer's market and was given some extra sweet potatoes to go home with. This soup was so simple - I had all I needed already at the house. Chicken stock instead of water is a must and canned tomatoes work fine. I didn't have fresh peanuts at the house, but the soup was fantastic with the mild peanut taste from just the peanut butter - I probably used about a tablespoon or more extra. This soup tastes good with heat. I was out of cayenne and substituted a carrot-based hot sauce (would not used vinegar based tobasco type) this worked so good I'm taking out cayenne altogether and sticking with the sweet hot sauce. My guy's mother is a fabulous cook - but she also chronically adds salt, cream, pepper, or whatever else is around to EVERYTHING I cook. This soup - however - made her rave. Yes! One big point for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was very thick and rich. It smelled very good while cooking, my husband thought I was making Indian muligatawny soup. It didn't taste bad, but was so filling that I could barely eat half a bowl. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Its very good. Don't skip the cilantro. I put diced pickles jalapenos in it and it was even better for those of you who like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband was crazy about this soup. I never thought of combining PB with sweet potatoes. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Nazianz, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This soup is fabulous and an excellent source of fiber and protein! I had it with some homemade whole wheat bread. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The is outstanding if someone likes a bit of different flavors and peanuts. Some of family loved it but some did not. It is easy and flavorful but not for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a great base recipe. I do make a few changes when I make it. I dice the carrot fine and sautee it with the onion and garlic. I also use garam masala and a little vindaloo seasoning instead of all the individual spices. I use 1 large (29oz) can of sweet potatoes and sometimes 1 smaller can (I think 15oz) if I want to make a large batch. I add a little chicken soup seasoning to the water (or chicken broth of I have some on hand.) I 1 small can of tomato sauce instead of the tomatoes as my husband and I are not huge fans of tomatoes. Also a little brown sugar to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. I don't bother blending it in a food processor, just chunk it of with the back of a wooden spoon or a potato masher. It's pretty quick and easy, doesn't take long at all to put together when done this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
made true to the recipe - really good and spicier then expected or my new cayenne powder is hotter than usual :-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States