African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is the best soup I have had in a long time. I am already planning a second batch for a dinner party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenland, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added an extra Tbsp of peanut butter (or two) and substituted one cup of chicken broth for one of the cups of water. I also added about a Tbsp of honey to bring out the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
very nutty, next time add the cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I don't know what all the fuss is about with this dish. Just like a few other people said my husband and I found it bland, bland, BLAND. I used chicken stock in place of water, tried adding extra peanut butter and cayenne pepper. Nothing helped. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Rich, earthy balance of flavors between savory and sweet. Huge hit at a dinner party! Easy to make, and as with so many good soups, even better the next day ... A winner, for sure. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mohair.sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This soup is wonderful if you wait a day before having so the flavors have some time to come together. I make over the weekend and have for lunch at work and it saves wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this last night. Very good - although I ended up adding more of the listed spices as it was initially bland -also I plan on making w/ vegetable broth next to make it more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I work at a farmer's market and was given some extra sweet potatoes to go home with. This soup was so simple - I had all I needed already at the house. Chicken stock instead of water is a must and canned tomatoes work fine. I didn't have fresh peanuts at the house, but the soup was fantastic with the mild peanut taste from just the peanut butter - I probably used about a tablespoon or more extra. This soup tastes good with heat. I was out of cayenne and substituted a carrot-based hot sauce (would not used vinegar based tobasco type) this worked so good I'm taking out cayenne altogether and sticking with the sweet hot sauce. My guy's mother is a fabulous cook - but she also chronically adds salt, cream, pepper, or whatever else is around to EVERYTHING I cook. This soup - however - made her rave. Yes! One big point for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was very thick and rich. It smelled very good while cooking, my husband thought I was making Indian muligatawny soup. It didn't taste bad, but was so filling that I could barely eat half a bowl. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Its very good. Don't skip the cilantro. I put diced pickles jalapenos in it and it was even better for those of you who like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States