African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I used 1 can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh, and adjusted the spices to taste. I used natural peanut butter, and I think if you are looking for "sweet", you should used regular. I reserved some of the peanuts to use as topping, which added a nice crunch. The cilantro really made a difference in the over flavor of the soup. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe is inexpensive, easy, quick to make and was a HUGE hit at the party at which I served it. There was only one total vegetarian there, but the omnivores gobbled it down, even though there was another pot of soup (which also got rave reviews) and other food there. This soup was the hit of the night. It has an exotic taste (much like Indian food, as you can imagine from the spices, plus I used garam masala instead of the cinnamon and cloves), but that nice, nutty peanut butter flavour is there as well. The only other thing I did different than the recipe was omit usage of the blender. I just smashed it all together with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Delicious. My friend likes it when I leave half chunky and half blended, more like a stew over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
What a delicious and very healthy soup. My husband and I loved drinking it from a mug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This soup is FANTASTIC. I don't usually use cilantro when it's called for in recipes, but it was the perfect compliment to this soup. We had some of the leftover soup two nights later and it was even better. Thank you for sharing, we'll be having this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
for those who like peanuts and earthly flavors, this soup is awesome. i absolutely loved all the different flavors, my boyfriend not so much, but then he is more the traditional type. i'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I didn't even have all the ingredients and this soup is still great! I left out the peanuts, ginger and coriander. It was still very yummy, like something you'd get at an ethnic gourmet restaraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Great recipe. Each ingredient added to the overall flavor which was delicate and complex. :o) I would note that the veggies may take more than 30 minutes to cook completely. Also, I made some small changes: left out ginger, used 1 can diced tomates in place of fresh, and used veggie broth instead of water. Really a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I made this for my African studies course. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
healthy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States