African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
AWESOME! A fav of my families for sure! Added more peanut butter cuz we love it and where more generous with the spices but otherwise this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Overall I liked this soup, but was expecting it to have more flavor. The only substitution that I did were canned whole tomatoes instead of the fresh ones. I felt that nuts didn't add anything to the taste, but didn't like the gritty texture, so I'll probably just skip them. Also I added only 1 tbsp of peanut butter after tasting the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup is absolutely delicious, nice warm flavors and very filling. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but I thought it was bland or something was missing. Probably used have used others suggestions to improve, but unfortunately, it was too much time and effort to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This soup is marvelous. When it came time to puree it, I ran into some problems - my food processor wouldn't turn on, our blender started to smoke when I plugged it in, and I ended up *trying* to use a hand held mixer. I got most of the sweet potatos pureed, but there were some carrot and mushroom (I added them because I love them) chunks still. I don't recommend using this method - it got pretty messy. However, this did not affect the taste in anyway. I took some advice and used the reduced-fat super chunky peanut butter, and added a lot more spices than the recipe calls for. It tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
LOVE this. It's part of my regular rotation of recipes -- I make it for company (it always makes an impression!), or I make a ton of it and pack the left-overs for school or work lunches. It's even better reheated! I don't make any changes except substituting a generous amount of garam masala for the cumin - cloves. It's a comparable mix of spices with a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHOOCHOOMCYUMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
As is, I give it a 4 star. I actually used 4 cups of vegetable broth, 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 loaded tsps of cumin and coriander, 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, about 4 tbls of peanut butter, and added half of a jalepeno pepper. I omitted the peanuts and used chunky peanut butter instead. With the revisions, it came out much more flavorful and delicious. We paired this with a simple tuna melt which was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yum! I trimmed this down to serve 2. I doubled the peanut butter and added more cumin and coriander. I used Kraft natural peanut butter, which has a wonderfully strong peanuty taste. The soup was fantastic! Peanut-y and rich, with a delicious, complex flavour. Wonderful! Both of us really enjoyed it & I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I was slightly disappointed at first, but like others have commented, the soup definitely improves overnight, and I was quite happy with it the next day. I used slightly more chunky peanut butter than called for and omitted the chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was one of those recipes that I really wanted to like but just didn't. After following the recipe I thought it was bland, and it still was even after I dumped in more spices at the end. Also, I didn't like the gritty texture from the peanuts and it was a chore to finish off the leftovers. This soup has potential, but next time I'd try a recipe with more spices and more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States