African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I'm not a measuring cook, so I really seasoned this as I saw fit. It was very flavorful and exactly as I had remembered it from a restaurant where I first tasted it. The only thing that could have made mine better was ground coriander as the recipe called for. I only had whole, and had to crush it between a napkin with the side of my chef's blade. Also, this dish can be fantastic without peanuts. I made a separate dish for my daughter who is allergic to nuts, and she had seconds. My hubby, other daughter and I all thought it entirely a meal unto itself. No one asked for anything else with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This soup really grew on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madenish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Made this into a backpacking recipe using instant mashed sweet potatoes, chunky peanut butter, and tofu. Delicious. A big hit with my 4 hungry male friends. I'm excited to follow the actual recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe was delicious, but it took me two and a half hours to make! However, it was well worth the work and wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Couldn't taste the sweet potato at all, only the peanuts. I had to add more cayenne to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLSANTIMORE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
AWESOME! A fav of my families for sure! Added more peanut butter cuz we love it and where more generous with the spices but otherwise this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Overall I liked this soup, but was expecting it to have more flavor. The only substitution that I did were canned whole tomatoes instead of the fresh ones. I felt that nuts didn't add anything to the taste, but didn't like the gritty texture, so I'll probably just skip them. Also I added only 1 tbsp of peanut butter after tasting the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This soup is absolutely delicious, nice warm flavors and very filling. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I really wanted to like this, but I thought it was bland or something was missing. Probably used have used others suggestions to improve, but unfortunately, it was too much time and effort to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States