African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup is great, a little too sweet for me. Not sure what the sweetness is coming from but will try to reduce the peanut butter to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious! I'm surprised other people thought this was bland - I thought the amount of spices called for was perfect. I'll definitely make this many times in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Yum! I love peanut soup and this was just what I was looking for. I used chicken broth instead of water as I don't like making my soups with water and I added a little bit of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Even with all the spices and peanut butter, I found this soup to be very bland. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Love Love this. We added 2 TBS of heavy cream and it did round the taste together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I would double the cayenne, but my husband liked it as is. To me the flavor in general seemed a bit weak, although it smelled nice. Perhaps best if served alongside a red pepper flake shaker, so that each may adjust the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This smells amazing while it is cooking ... However, I was very disappointed when I "tried" eating it. I was not particularly fond of the "raw peanut" taste ... maybe I should have used the unsalted dry-roasted peanuts as a garnish instead of actually putting them in the soup. I followed this recipe exactly as written and had high hopes considering the reviews I read. I love the idea of this soup ... but I do not think I will be making this again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I saved this interesting recipe a few years ago but never made until a few days ago. Made it a day ahead to let the flavors meld and served it to my quilting mini-group for lunch -- without telling them the ingredients. It as a monster hit! Don't forget the fresh chopped cilantro sprinkled on top: it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I REALLY liked this soup! I ate it almost everyday for a week! The combination of sweet potato and peanut is delicious. It was soooo "creamy" but it has no dairy in it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This soup is so good! The first bite is yummy and the flavors keep building as you go through the bowl. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States