African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I would double the cayenne, but my husband liked it as is. To me the flavor in general seemed a bit weak, although it smelled nice. Perhaps best if served alongside a red pepper flake shaker, so that each may adjust the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This smells amazing while it is cooking ... However, I was very disappointed when I "tried" eating it. I was not particularly fond of the "raw peanut" taste ... maybe I should have used the unsalted dry-roasted peanuts as a garnish instead of actually putting them in the soup. I followed this recipe exactly as written and had high hopes considering the reviews I read. I love the idea of this soup ... but I do not think I will be making this again. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie_LBGC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I saved this interesting recipe a few years ago but never made until a few days ago. Made it a day ahead to let the flavors meld and served it to my quilting mini-group for lunch -- without telling them the ingredients. It as a monster hit! Don't forget the fresh chopped cilantro sprinkled on top: it makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I REALLY liked this soup! I ate it almost everyday for a week! The combination of sweet potato and peanut is delicious. It was soooo "creamy" but it has no dairy in it! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurenmommyof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This soup is so good! The first bite is yummy and the flavors keep building as you go through the bowl. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I thought this soup was delicious, but my family really didn't like it, they didn't even finish their bowl.. so I compromised and gave it 4 stars. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was really tasty and addictive. Like many others, I also doubled the peanut butter and used crunchy. For anyone who thinks they don't need the cilantro, it really adds another dimension to the flavors of this soup. Don't skip out on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Loaded with lots of flavour, this hearty soup really satisfies! I used natural peanut butter to replace both the crushed peanuts and pb.... turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
We honestly didn't care for this at all. I am giving 3 stars only because I'm hoping it's just that we're not familiar with the flavor combination... and it looks gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is quite different from anything I've had before. It tasted pretty good but it made my husband's stomach hurt every time he ate it. Considering that, it isn't good enough that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States