African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made this soup as a filling meal following my husband's dental surgery (he must eat soft foods). Wonderful, comforting, interesting rich flavor; my husband loved it. Like others, I used canned sweet potatoes, canned tomatoes and crunchy peanut butter. The fresh chopped cilantro really set off the flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This soup was a lot of work and the end result was nothing that my husband would even touch because of the smell. I followed the directions completely and can see where it would be easier to use canned sweet potatoes and tomatoes...but I had fresh so I used them up. I thought it was okay, not something I would make or order again if I had it in a restaurant. Even though I love all of the ingredients seperately they just didn't mesh well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I have made this about four times and have it down to a science. It is my favorite recipe that I have made from AllRecipes so far. Flavorful, interesting and easy. The only shortcuts I take are canned tomatoes and chunky peanut butter. The cilantro on top really completes this soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I loved this. I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and 1 24oz can (I think) of canned sweet potatoes instead of the fresh versions, just to speed things up. The only problem I had was finding a saucepan big enough to fit all the ingredients in! I ended up only adding half of the "water" (I used veggie broth instead) at first and not adding the other half until the end when the peanut butter was added. I used crunchy peanut butter rather than peanut butter + peanuts. Cilantro on top was great! I pureed about half of the soup and left the other half chunky. I served it over brown rice in a bowl. A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I love this recipe. Its easy and can be made in a flash. I tend to use canned tomatoes and sometimes canned sweet potatoes if I dont have fresh on hand. I skip the blending stage and instead of using smooth peanut butter and roasted peanuts I kill two birds with one stone and use natural crunchy peanut butter. Cilantro IS a wonderful compliment to the soup but not necesssary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodfanaticdebi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I used 1 can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh, and adjusted the spices to taste. I used natural peanut butter, and I think if you are looking for "sweet", you should used regular. I reserved some of the peanuts to use as topping, which added a nice crunch. The cilantro really made a difference in the over flavor of the soup. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This recipe is inexpensive, easy, quick to make and was a HUGE hit at the party at which I served it. There was only one total vegetarian there, but the omnivores gobbled it down, even though there was another pot of soup (which also got rave reviews) and other food there. This soup was the hit of the night. It has an exotic taste (much like Indian food, as you can imagine from the spices, plus I used garam masala instead of the cinnamon and cloves), but that nice, nutty peanut butter flavour is there as well. The only other thing I did different than the recipe was omit usage of the blender. I just smashed it all together with a potato masher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Delicious. My friend likes it when I leave half chunky and half blended, more like a stew over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
What a delicious and very healthy soup. My husband and I loved drinking it from a mug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This soup is FANTASTIC. I don't usually use cilantro when it's called for in recipes, but it was the perfect compliment to this soup. We had some of the leftover soup two nights later and it was even better. Thank you for sharing, we'll be having this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States