African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Lovely Flavour! i used some cilantro in the soup when cooking as well as when it was served. I would have used 200ml extra water, because i found it a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Made this for a rainy day lunch. Delicious. I made two small changes to the recipe. First, I didn't add any cloves, and secondly I used natural crunchy peanut butter rather than bothering with chopping nuts. A very good mix of flavors. I wouldn't mind adding a little more cheyenne pepper, but I wasn't missing anything just the way it was. Certainly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
interesting flavor....I had to double up on the red pepper though. I could smell the peanut bytter, but couldn't taste it. The cilantro is a nice touch! ...my dinner party loved it...left out the peanuts (actually forgot them)..added more peanut butter and red pepper...just used two large sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
My husband made this for supper. We loved it. Even four year old picky eater liked it. Used salted roasted peanuts and reg smooth peanut butter instead(all we had). Not too salty. Will definately make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Beautiful, decadent tasting soup with no cream. Use the immersion blender but keep a few larger chunks of the soup for interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Other than using yams, I followed this recipe exactly. I served it to some guests and everyone raved! What a great recipe using simple ingredients. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I made this soup as a filling meal following my husband's dental surgery (he must eat soft foods). Wonderful, comforting, interesting rich flavor; my husband loved it. Like others, I used canned sweet potatoes, canned tomatoes and crunchy peanut butter. The fresh chopped cilantro really set off the flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This soup was a lot of work and the end result was nothing that my husband would even touch because of the smell. I followed the directions completely and can see where it would be easier to use canned sweet potatoes and tomatoes...but I had fresh so I used them up. I thought it was okay, not something I would make or order again if I had it in a restaurant. Even though I love all of the ingredients seperately they just didn't mesh well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I have made this about four times and have it down to a science. It is my favorite recipe that I have made from AllRecipes so far. Flavorful, interesting and easy. The only shortcuts I take are canned tomatoes and chunky peanut butter. The cilantro on top really completes this soup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I loved this. I used 1 15oz can of diced tomatoes, and 1 24oz can (I think) of canned sweet potatoes instead of the fresh versions, just to speed things up. The only problem I had was finding a saucepan big enough to fit all the ingredients in! I ended up only adding half of the "water" (I used veggie broth instead) at first and not adding the other half until the end when the peanut butter was added. I used crunchy peanut butter rather than peanut butter + peanuts. Cilantro on top was great! I pureed about half of the soup and left the other half chunky. I served it over brown rice in a bowl. A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States