African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I did double the peanut butter and it was just as delicious! Great vegetarian recipe and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I'm SSOOO dissapointed with this recipe. It smelled heavenly while is was cooking - the aromas from the spices were incredible. Unfortunatly, the smells didn't translate to the taste, and now I'm left with a big pot of soup that I'm no too excited to have to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe! I used a 900 ml carton of vegetable broth instead of the water and added a 19 oz can of chickpeas. I used 2 medium-sized yams, rather than sweet potatoes, and I don't know how much they weighed. I only pureed about half of the recipe and then added 1/4c of dried black currants at the end and let it cook for another 5 minutes to plump the currants. Adding the fruit made this recipe similar to the Delicious Chickpea Curry (also on this site), but this was so much better with the peanut butter and chopped peanuts. Really good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
EXCELLENT! I used 2 pounds of sweet potato, subbed vegetable broth for the water, simmered uncovered, used 6 TBSP peanut butter (put it right in there in the food processor while I pureed the soup) and used a half TSP of cayenne - we like it spicy! I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This was good. I cut down the liquid by about half based on other reviewers recommendations, then replaced half of that with heavy cream to make it thicker. I also cooked it for a good while to soften up the potato chunks. Finally, I added rice to it and cooked until the rice was done, which helped offset the grainy texture. It doesn't look too appetizing on its own (kind of looks like baby food) but in a nice bowl with Garnish it's nice. If you reduce the liquid even more you could probably also serve it as a tasty version of mashed sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this recipe almost exactly as is, with the addition of one red bell pepper, 1/2 tsp of salt and an extra tablespoon of peanut butter. This smelled wonderful and maybe with some tweaking could taste that way too, but as is it is way too watery. Next time I will use only 2 cups of liquid and I will use chicken broth, and more cumin because I love that stuff. Unfortunately, I have to throw this batch away... hence the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
YUM! Need I say more. This one will go in my recipe box for sure. Perfect just as it was submitted, without any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
this soup was amazing. the slight touch of peanut butter paired with the rich, creamy flavor of the tubers, followed by the bite of cayenne... was overwhelmingly wonderful. i made a few changes though... i used half sweet potatoes, half yams, then threw in some leftover butternut squash i had. i most definitely used FRESH tomatoes. i also used about 3/5 of water from veggie broth. i served it over millet for myself, while my boyfriend ate it with sourdough bread. we both loved it. besides the pain of food processing hte soup, it was all very easy to assemble and had an authentic taste. i will use this forever more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Brunsfeld

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was an excellent, creamy soup. I made it as directed, but I look forward to playing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This is heavenly smelling as it cooks. My girl and I enjoyed it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States