African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious! Easy! Rave reviews from guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great Soup, just added some garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great taste! Didn't go over well with the picky meat-and-potato son, but everyone else loved it. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh, which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was delicious. I had several sweet potatoes leftover from Thanksgiving dinner so I doubled the recipe (which I would recommend since it's so inexpensive and easy to freeze). I used my favourite veggie broth in place of water & used 1.5 x the amount of spices (based on doubling the recipe). My kids loved it! Oh, & I used crunchy PB in place of the peanuts & approx 1 extra tablespoon. I did not double the cayenne because if the children however, I just added more to mine upon serving. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe left me flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Beckingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
While it was cooking, I thought it was going to be really good. With all the spices, sweet potatoes, and tomatoes, I was really excited to try it. The smell helped too. I served it with home-made flatbread, and that was a good thing, because without the bread, I don't think we would have eaten a lot of it. Words used to describe this, were not the best: "Bland", "Glop", and even, "It's like baby food". I thought it was okay, but next time I make it, I'm going to change a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great soup! I used a 14oz. can of tomatoes, chicken broth instead of water. Also added some sriracha for flavour. I think that was exactly what was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Maybe some peanuts for crunch, but really nice, mellow flavor and lots of veggies. Like that it didn't have cream or butter! Would probably be good chilled, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylie Groenhout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
One of my favourites. I love this soup. Used a can of diced tomates and lots and lots of ginger and garlic. I'm not stingy with the spices. Everyone loved this soup. I make it all the time and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Sparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! Made the recipe just as is and served with a brown/wild rice combination. Very filling, very good. I was a little heavy-handed with the red pepper so I'll tone that down a little and bring up the cinnamon/spice notes more, but on the whole, healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States