African Sweet Potato and Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was delicious. I had several sweet potatoes leftover from Thanksgiving dinner so I doubled the recipe (which I would recommend since it's so inexpensive and easy to freeze). I used my favourite veggie broth in place of water & used 1.5 x the amount of spices (based on doubling the recipe). My kids loved it! Oh, & I used crunchy PB in place of the peanuts & approx 1 extra tablespoon. I did not double the cayenne because if the children however, I just added more to mine upon serving. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe left me flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Beckingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
While it was cooking, I thought it was going to be really good. With all the spices, sweet potatoes, and tomatoes, I was really excited to try it. The smell helped too. I served it with home-made flatbread, and that was a good thing, because without the bread, I don't think we would have eaten a lot of it. Words used to describe this, were not the best: "Bland", "Glop", and even, "It's like baby food". I thought it was okay, but next time I make it, I'm going to change a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great soup! I used a 14oz. can of tomatoes, chicken broth instead of water. Also added some sriracha for flavour. I think that was exactly what was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Maybe some peanuts for crunch, but really nice, mellow flavor and lots of veggies. Like that it didn't have cream or butter! Would probably be good chilled, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylie of Cafe Groenhout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
One of my favourites. I love this soup. Used a can of diced tomates and lots and lots of ginger and garlic. I'm not stingy with the spices. Everyone loved this soup. I make it all the time and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Excellent! Made the recipe just as is and served with a brown/wild rice combination. Very filling, very good. I was a little heavy-handed with the red pepper so I'll tone that down a little and bring up the cinnamon/spice notes more, but on the whole, healthy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
More like 3.5. I made it as directed, replacing the water with half chicken broth and half veggie broth. It was birding, so I doubled the peanut butter and kicked up the spice. Still enh..but once I added the cilantro? Wow! The cilantro really makes the soup. My husband talked about "next time you make this," so I guess I will be making this again. Paired it with Asian glazed carrots, also from this site. A good match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I've never tasted anything like this before. Loved the mix of sweet potato, ginger and peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup. I do think it could use less peanut butter and the dry roasted peanuts would be better as a garnish. I also added more salt and pepper to suit my taste after dishing it up into bowls. Very nice and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States