African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I had this in Africa. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I loved it.I used creamy peanut butter,& had to add mixed veggies to make it filling because I didn't use the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This soup is amazing. I made some changes. I used a jar of salsa and a 10 oz can of diced tomatoes with cilantro & lime juice in place of the can of tomatoes. I added 1/2 t of Cumin and 1/4 t of cayenne pepper. I used creamy natural peanut butter. I used one red and one orange bell pepper. The result was excellent. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Panucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I utilize this site a lot for recipes, but this is my first time reviewing -- that's how awesome this soup is! It was so easy to make, and I froze a portion of it a couple weeks ago and just thawed it out and it's still fantastic! I pretty much followed the recipe except I added like a quarter cup of roasted peanuts in addition to the crunchy peanut butter because I wanted it to be pretty chunky. If you are hesitant because you think this is a strange flavor combo -- just try it, it somehow just works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montoursville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This soup was delicious! Even my brother, who rarely rates food better than "ok," said that this soup is amazing. I followed the directions exactly, but I ended up simmering the brown rice for about 45 minutes before it was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My 7yo didn't care for it but we loved it. It is so tasty! I followed other reviewers and tweeked a few things as well such as peeled chopped potato, 1/2 cup salsa and I had an African blend spice which has cinnamon and fennel in it..yum. I used brown basmati rice, fresh roma tomatoes, sliced carrots and put a full cup of Kraft creamy peanut butter. You really can't go wrong. Definitely be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuskokaJac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tried it didn't like this recipe because it tasted nothing like the first time I ate peanut butter soup. Will try another to try and get that authentic taste...It was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christic P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Another meatless Monday hit. Changes I made, using vegetable stock instead of chicken, creamy peanut butter instead of crunchy and a little cayenne pepper instead of chili powder because it is what I had on hand .. Served with garlic bread .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've made this a few times now. If I don't add chicken, I like to double the rice. I also like a dash of cayenne in addition to the chili powder. I only use one red pepper to appease my veggie-phobic children. (I chopped the one up so fine that they didn't know it was there--bwa ha ha!) Great low-cost, high-taste recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have made this soup at least 10 times since I found the recipe. It is a favorite! It's so easy and quick to make. ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States