African Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Pretty good as written, the only thing I'll be doing next time is increasing the spices or taking Liz E.'s suggestion and using salsa in the place of the chopped tomatoes. As written it was very nice but a bit bland for my tastes. The tomato/peanut butter combination isn't for everyone, but I really enjoyed it so I'm sure I'll be making it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I am giving it 5 because I am sure it is pretty good on it's own. However I did combine it with another recipe, the Peanut Butter Vegetable Chicken Soup because I wanted the chicken and the extra veggies. The two together were awesome! I don't know about authentic but what I do know is we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I made it three times within the first week I discovered it, and it's always a crowd pleaser. It's unfamiliar and savory. Like many others, I also substituted chunky salsa for the tomatoes. I use chicken broth instead of the veggie stock, and I also saute the garlic from the get-go with my onions and peppers. I also add an uncooked chicken breast after it's been simmering about 20 minutes. After it's cooked I take it out and shred it before adding it back to the pot. I've used white rice, as opposed to brown. When I add the rice, I also add a peeled/chopped potato, making it extra hearty. For the peanut butter I've used Jif extra crunchy. I've noticed a lot of people concerned about the sweetness in processed vs. natural, but I think it's a good flavor. You honestly don't even taste the peanut butter if you measure it right. The peanuts add extra bulk to the stew, while giving it a nice creamy consistency. Served with sour cream to cut the spiciness (Everyone else likes spicy, but I don't so much). I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Very unique blend of tastes. I added slivered almonds for added texture. I can see this soup being great pureed as well, rice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
delicious, has a great rich flavor. added 1/2 tsp. salt, 2x the chili powder, 2x the black pepper, and a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a new favorite in my household and by everyone we've asked to try it. My hubby has to have meat so I also add two seasoned, shredded chicken breasts. I upped the rice the second time we had this to 1 3/4 cups. I've added shredded carrots and this time am adding sweet potato. I also have been using chicken stock and took others suggestions and used salsa instead of tomatoes, which hubby is not a fan of. I also upped the peanut butter. We top it with cilantro and lime juice. Its actually pretty similar to pad thai, but in a soup. We LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong or what but I just did NOT like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
We didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS..... This is what I did different: used 1 cup of rice 1 teaspoon of pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Good soup. Will do again but with a couple changes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States