African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was much more bland than we expected. It definitely needs more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I did alter the recipe a bit because of some of the other reviews. Here is what I did. I added some hot chili powder to spice it up, curry paste instead of powder, and I had cooked the rice in coconut milk so I added cream instead of the coconut milk to the chicken. I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. This was fabulous!! Just a bit of a kick. MMMM Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Really good! Both me and my boyfriend love it! I used boneless thighs, more than double the curry and garlic and salt. I also added golden raisins which really added to the dish. Forgot the lemon juice but will add it next time. This is a great recipe, can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Absolutely Yummy. This was a great dish.. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I agree with the people who said this turned out great because they are great cooks. You do need to customize the recipe to your taste. I used about 2 teaspoons from a jar of minced garlic. After sauteing the onion & garlic until the onion was tender, I added the tomato and sauteed garlic, onion, tomato together for about 10 minutes on low. I used the canned whole peeled tomatoes, but I diced them myself. Instead of throwing out the juice, I reserved it. While cooking the chicken I slowly added the reserved tomato juice and reduced it. My grocery store only had sweetened coconut milk. If you can only get the sweetened coconut milk, don't add a whole can. Add a little, stir, simmer, and taste. I added about 1/3 of the can and it was perfect. I wanted my chicken to be fall apart tender, so I cooked it on low heat. I used about 1lb of chicken. After I added the coconut milk, I added about a pound of cooked shrimp, 3 more diced peeled tomatoes (I used 1 14.5 ounce can, plus 3 out of another can), 1 tablespoon of butter, then covered and simmered for about an hour. I was very heavy handed with the garlic salt and the curry. I used hot vindaloo curry paste and some tumeric based curry powder. I also added some cayenne (we love spicy food). The butter added some richness to the sauce, and the extra tomato juice helped give me a nice rich sauce as well. If I had not only been able to get sweetened coconut milk I may not have needed the butter or the extra tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My family liked this recipe. I couldn't get chicken at my local supermarket that day, so I used spiced chicken rissoles that I would normally put on the barbecue, and it tasted great. We used light coconut milk (Trying to watch the waistline!)My husband is a picky eater and does not like curries, but he ate this one no worries and my 18 month old daughter had no problems with the curry either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Living In: Caboolture, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe is AMAZING! It's the first curry dish I've made and am so pleased with it. It's just as good as the restaurants I've been to here in Japan. This will DEFINITELY be a staple recipe in my home. My family loved it and my friend loved the leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made my own variation of this recipe. Boy is it good!!!!!!!!!!!! I will definitely be keeping this recipe and making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
this was good but definately needed some improvement. i agree with the previous cooks who said that the addition of extra garlic, brown sugar and cayenne or some other heat source are necessary. and that one can of coconut milk is too much. i used half a can and about 2T of yogurt to add thickness. whats more, i used 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon for extra aroma. i also think that the sauce can be prepared ahead of time and stored in fridge til needed, adding sauted chicken (or shrimp, which i used and really liked)when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was very delectable. I followed the exact recipe without the onions (because my husband hates onions)but added onion powder. It was very good but I think next time I will tweak it and add some cayenne pepper or other things to give it a little bit more spicyness and flavor. Mine came out a little runny as well. I'm still trying to think of a way to make it a little thicker but it was delicious! This is definitly going to be kept in my special recipe folder! The family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States