African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I changed the recipe by adding 6 cloves of garlic, 3 Tablespoons of brown sugar, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 can of coconut milk, 1/2 of the juice from a lemon, and 1/8 ginger. I served it over rice. We then put shredded coconut, oranges, bananas, and raisins on top. I need to still play with it, but it was very close to the curry that the cooks would make for us in bordering school in Nigeria, West Africa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Husband loved it and he's from Africa. Added cayenne to taste and a tablespoon of light brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My husband and I thought this recipe was terrific! Although I did forget to add the lemon at the end- Possibly because after tasting it in the pan we just couldn’t wait to get it on our plates! I did make one changes only because I did not have a can of whole tomatoes on hand I used a can of “Ro*tel” (tomatoes and green chilies) instead. I wasn’t sure about doing it since it had the added green chili but I had no other choice. I am sure this added to the spiciness. I also want to mention that I use Red Curry spice from McCormicks (I do love to cook but don’t consider myself all that experienced/knowledgeable so maybe someone else can clarify- is red curry spicier than traditional yellow curry spice?) I have used regular curry spice before and don’t remember it being so spicy. I doubt the can of rotel alone would increase the heat of this dish this much on its own. We love spicy food so I was delighted with the flavor these changes provided. Especially after I read reviews stating that the dish was bland. No blandness here- My nose was running, my tongue was burning and my body temp was rising as I finished my second helping! This will go into the regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. I made it for my husband, and brother-in-law, (who are from Africa), and they both loved it. My brother-in-law said it reminded him of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
If there was a meal that I was going make weekly . . . this would be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
It was great. I added some other spices because all I had was Jamaican curry. I added about 1/2 tsp chili power, extra curry, 1 tbsp paprika, and a few shakes of dried cilantro. It was great. OH! I also added red peppers and let the coconut milk reduce a bit before serving. You can do pretty much anything with this and make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I thought this tasted really good. It was very silky and creamy. It was not very spicy, which I thought was perfect, but if you like hot curry, you would need to add heat. Since there has been so much discussion on the curry, I looked up a traditional recipe for African curry and used that. Here is the African Curry powder recipe: 1 tablespoon ground cumin 1 tablespoon ground coriander 1 tablespoon ground turmeric 1½ teaspoons ground ginger 1½ teaspoons ground allspice 1½ teaspoons garlic powder ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper ½ teaspoon chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie H

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
This was really good. Just like at my favorite restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This was fantastic! As per some previous reviews I added a sliced red bell pepper, bamboo shoots and I sliced some petite mushrooms into the mix. Add the pepper in shortly after the onions, the mushrooms with about 10 min left on the chicken and the bamboo shoots (drained) with about 5 min left on the chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsubaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States