African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great for the 2 of us with conflicting palates - I love exotic foods, my hubby prefers traditional American. I didn't have enough chicken so I used a couple whole skin-on bone-in chicken parts and hot Italian turkey sausage, browning before adding the onions, rmeoving and re-adding. Also added a touch of collards and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peace Frog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Delicious! Especially over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I loved this dish. Could easily be made with chicken tenders or breast. I didn't bone the thighs, legs or wings and cut up the breast into chunks. Following some of the other comments, I marinaded the skinned chicken in yogurt, turmeric and pepper. I used canned tomatoes, 6 cloves of garlic and 1 purple onion and 1 white onion since I had both types. I made my own curry powder using the recipe another reviewer had posted. My Dad grew up in India and he told us they always made fresh curry powder. I reduced the cayenne pepper to 1 teas so my son would eat it. This amount gave no kick. I served it with Mediterranean Quinoa, (allrecipe.com) instead of rice as I try to stay with low glycemic foods. The two dishes blended very well. The following day, I mixed the leftovers together and added fresh chopped plum tomatoes, more of the fresh curry powder and more cayenne pepper so that it had some kick. Was even better the 2nd time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
OK - I'm giving this one 4 stars provided that you first check out the the excellent suggestions in the reviews. I made the African curry that one of the reviewers provided since I didn't have curry powder (& didn't feel like running to the store :). I also marinated cut up chicken breasts in yogurt mixed with turmeric and black pepper as suggested by another reviewer (but I wiped off most of it before adding to the skillet). I also added 2 T butter to the sauce along with some brown sugar before adding light unsweetened coconut milk (all I had on hand). I think it needed the regular coconut milk as the sauce seemed a bit thin. I didn't care for the fresh lemon juice and am glad I only added a small amount. I had to add a bit of fine sea salt at the end too. So, this is a good recipe with some additions and I'll make it again. I'm amazed at all the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Yummy! I did make a few changes per other reviews - double curry and garlic. I used 2 chicken breasts and 1 package 21-25 count jumbo shrimp. Excellent combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I used chicken breasts and fresh tomatoes. We loved this! Quick and easy meal. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was an interesting and flavorful dish! Instead of using a whole chicken i just used boneless, skinless chicken breast. I also omited the bay leaf. My husband commented that maybe next time i should add something to make it a little spicy, and i agree. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Made it at least twice - always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
We thought this was good although I did triple the garlic and curry and I also added 2 Serrano peppers and a heavy shake of cayenne. We like it a bit spicy. Served over Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Awesome! Used Red Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States