African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good to Joe and me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I gave this five stars because I substituted several ingredients/made alterations and it still came out fantastic. When I went to add the coconut milk, I found that it had gone out of date. The closest substitute I had on hand was cream of coconut. I used all I had left in the bottle (about 8 oz) and added regular milk to make 14 ounces. I used some leftover roasted pork loin as the meat, added two potatoes cut into cubes, an extra tablespoon of curry, 1/4 tsp cayenne and a couple of fresh Roma tomatoes in addition to the canned. I thought for sure it would come out terrible due to substituting the coconut milk, but like I said, still fantastic. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I changed the recipe a little -- I used vegetarian chicken pieces, vindaloo seasoning instead of curry, and added tomatillos. I thought it was good, but not nearly as spicy as I expected since the vindaloo seasoning is quite hot without coconut milk. I added more salt than indicated as well, and,as others suggested, added brown sugar. Overall, a good dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Ok, I'm not a knowledgeable curry cook so maybe that is why I had trouble? It seemed that many people had great success with a few modifications, but mine turned out to be very watery. I think I need a step-by-step guide on curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Excellent template curry dish. You will probably have to make it a few times to get the right flavor and spiciness for you but when you find the perfect mix, you will keep coming back for more. I have made a few adjustments that I would like to share. First, I cooked the chicken separately and set aside for adding later. Also, I personally like vegetables in my curry dishes so I added a halved then sliced small zucchini and a halved then sliced green pepper (will add more next time.) I am a tomato lover and added a 28 oz can of whole peeled tomatoes instead of the 14.5 oz can. I also went nuts with the garlic and curry. 6 cloves of garlic and 2+ tsps of spicy curry powder and 1+ tblsps of red curry paste. To top it off, I added a generous amount of crushed habenero flakes. Most will not tolerate this but I do recommend adding some sort of heat to this dish. I also added a tbsp of cornstarch to the coconut milk to thicken it up. In the end, an excellent restaurant style curry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought this was a very simple and tasty recipe. I added a bit more curry that it called for, as well as extra salt. Next time I use this recipe I plan to try using even more curry and an additional clove of garlic for extra zing. This will definitely be a recipe I visit again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decoratorlady
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
The end result i got from this curry was delicious, but i ended up needing to make many adaptions. 1. I use diced chicken breast instead of a whole chicken 2. I used the 2 tbsp of sugar like everyone reccomends 3. I used 2 tbsp of mild curry paste instead of curry powder 4. And i added a chopped red bell pepper. Very tasty with my adaptions i think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I wasn't terribly impressed. It was ok but missing something that I can't put my finger on. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Abso-flippin-lutely fantastic. My girlfriend and I love this recipe. We follow it to the letter, put it over rice, and serve in a bowl. The only thing we do different is use boneless/skinless chicken cut into cubes and brown them before adding them to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Great for the 2 of us with conflicting palates - I love exotic foods, my hubby prefers traditional American. I didn't have enough chicken so I used a couple whole skin-on bone-in chicken parts and hot Italian turkey sausage, browning before adding the onions, rmeoving and re-adding. Also added a touch of collards and okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peace Frog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States