African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This curry was really nice. My spouse really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
this is a GREAT basic curry dish...i added cauliflower and potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow, good base recipe. This was delicious and I'll be making it regularly, but I made many changes for the sake of adding flavor and a bit of heat: I used much more curry, only a half can of coconut milk, a teaspoon brown sugar, no bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes with the liquid, much more salt (coarse salt), pepper, cayenne, pepper flakes, and sliced boneless-skinless chicken thighs- the dark meat has more flavor and stays more tender (plus it's cheaper). I sauteed the onion about 5 minutes, added the chicken (which I seasoned), then the garlic after about 5 minutes. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the tomatoes and rest of the spices and brown sugar. Then, I let that simmer for 5 minutes, slowly added half a can of unsweetened coconut milk, let it come to a simmer, then served over brown rice. This was the first time I made curry, but I'm no cooking novice so I knew better than to follow the recipe verbatim- you can tell it would turn out bland that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is very good curry. Not too spicy yet full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I really liked this dish. It's a good one for people who aren't too sure about curry, because it wasn't too spicy (I think in the future I'll make it a little spicier). The coconut milk adds a little sweetness that is pleasant. I'll return to this recipe often, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My husband and I love this dish. I use 2 whole chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken, and I add 1 Tbs sugar and a dash of cayenne. This is great served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thrall, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is great! I'm eating it as I write! I did make quite a few changes though: I sauteed the onion, garlic (I used five cloves), and bay leaf (I only had crushed bay leaves in a shaker so I used 1/2 tsp.) in chicken broth instead of oil to cut down on the fat. Along with it I also chopped up an individual size snack pack (65g.) of mini carrots. I used 3 tsp. green curry paste instead of the powder (next time I'll use more), I only had diced tomatoes on hand so I used those, I threw in a dash of red pepper flakes and a tablesppon of brown sugar along with the coconut and a few squirts of bottled lemon juice. I'm happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have whole canned tomatoes so, I mixed up canned crushed and 1 ripe fresh tomato. Added 1 tsp garam masala (for *kick*), and halved the entire recipe. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I first tried this recipe as is (except for using boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped into pieces) and found it to be too bland. I added seassoned salt(McCormick only!), garlic and onion powders, red (cayenne) and black peppers, and probably 1.5-2x more curry powder and it came out great. When I am in the mood for really spicy, I add in chopped serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very creamy, easy recipe. Not spicy at all. Still enjoyed. My curry was not spicy but will buy spicier curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States