African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This curry was really nice. My spouse really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
this is a GREAT basic curry dish...i added cauliflower and potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow, good base recipe. This was delicious and I'll be making it regularly, but I made many changes for the sake of adding flavor and a bit of heat: I used much more curry, only a half can of coconut milk, a teaspoon brown sugar, no bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes with the liquid, much more salt (coarse salt), pepper, cayenne, pepper flakes, and sliced boneless-skinless chicken thighs- the dark meat has more flavor and stays more tender (plus it's cheaper). I sauteed the onion about 5 minutes, added the chicken (which I seasoned), then the garlic after about 5 minutes. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the tomatoes and rest of the spices and brown sugar. Then, I let that simmer for 5 minutes, slowly added half a can of unsweetened coconut milk, let it come to a simmer, then served over brown rice. This was the first time I made curry, but I'm no cooking novice so I knew better than to follow the recipe verbatim- you can tell it would turn out bland that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is very good curry. Not too spicy yet full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I really liked this dish. It's a good one for people who aren't too sure about curry, because it wasn't too spicy (I think in the future I'll make it a little spicier). The coconut milk adds a little sweetness that is pleasant. I'll return to this recipe often, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My husband and I love this dish. I use 2 whole chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken, and I add 1 Tbs sugar and a dash of cayenne. This is great served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thrall, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is great! I'm eating it as I write! I did make quite a few changes though: I sauteed the onion, garlic (I used five cloves), and bay leaf (I only had crushed bay leaves in a shaker so I used 1/2 tsp.) in chicken broth instead of oil to cut down on the fat. Along with it I also chopped up an individual size snack pack (65g.) of mini carrots. I used 3 tsp. green curry paste instead of the powder (next time I'll use more), I only had diced tomatoes on hand so I used those, I threw in a dash of red pepper flakes and a tablesppon of brown sugar along with the coconut and a few squirts of bottled lemon juice. I'm happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have whole canned tomatoes so, I mixed up canned crushed and 1 ripe fresh tomato. Added 1 tsp garam masala (for *kick*), and halved the entire recipe. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I first tried this recipe as is (except for using boneless, skinless chicken breasts chopped into pieces) and found it to be too bland. I added seassoned salt(McCormick only!), garlic and onion powders, red (cayenne) and black peppers, and probably 1.5-2x more curry powder and it came out great. When I am in the mood for really spicy, I add in chopped serrano peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very creamy, easy recipe. Not spicy at all. Still enjoyed. My curry was not spicy but will buy spicier curry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States