African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was really good! We had it over brown rice and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was ok. I love curries and was excited to try this. Too much cocont milk and not enough flavor to rival a restaurant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I like it but it was nothing special. My husband said he like it too but next time I will add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
As written I found it to be too bland. I also do not understand the need to take 10 minutes to pour in a can of coconut milk. After I added curry paste and salt and we enjoyed it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This curry was really nice. My spouse really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
this is a GREAT basic curry dish...i added cauliflower and potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimi Sturgess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow, good base recipe. This was delicious and I'll be making it regularly, but I made many changes for the sake of adding flavor and a bit of heat: I used much more curry, only a half can of coconut milk, a teaspoon brown sugar, no bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes with the liquid, much more salt (coarse salt), pepper, cayenne, pepper flakes, and sliced boneless-skinless chicken thighs- the dark meat has more flavor and stays more tender (plus it's cheaper). I sauteed the onion about 5 minutes, added the chicken (which I seasoned), then the garlic after about 5 minutes. Once the chicken was cooked, I added the tomatoes and rest of the spices and brown sugar. Then, I let that simmer for 5 minutes, slowly added half a can of unsweetened coconut milk, let it come to a simmer, then served over brown rice. This was the first time I made curry, but I'm no cooking novice so I knew better than to follow the recipe verbatim- you can tell it would turn out bland that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is very good curry. Not too spicy yet full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I really liked this dish. It's a good one for people who aren't too sure about curry, because it wasn't too spicy (I think in the future I'll make it a little spicier). The coconut milk adds a little sweetness that is pleasant. I'll return to this recipe often, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States